Posted by: Robin~AllThingsHeartandHome | March 4, 2009

My Love affair with Plates!

My Love Affair with Plates,

 yes, that’s what I said!

Over at  We’re THAT Family,  there’s a huge Works For Me Wednesday Party going on….tons, really, tons of blog peeps give ideas on everything! Today, this is what works for me! Decorating with one of my true loves…

I love dishes. Most of all I adore plates. I see old miss-matched china in antique stores and my heart skips a beat. (I’m a really cheap date!) Anyhoo, some time ago I gave in and started buying the left behind old china plate and putting them up on my walls so I could have the skipping heartbeats every day.

 Scrumptious, don’t ya think?

 i-love-my-plates-on-wall

ilove-my-plates-wall2

These are the dishes I love the most, at least when I’m in a girly dress-up mood!

 

dinning-room-plates

plates-on-the-wall1

platter-on-top-of-cabinet

 plates-in-fun-room

 plates-in-bathroom

 plates-on-the-wall

I make it a point to have books in every room in the house…I’ve discovered a few rooms without china on the walls. I plan on fixing that very soon.

Anyone else out there have a love affair with plates!?!?!?

 


Responses

  1. No on a love affair, but there is a plate I love which has the last supper painted on it. I think it was hanging on my grandparents’ wall before I was born. I cried when my grandmother gave it to me a few years before she passed away. I also have a dish for dressed eggs that Mama used regularly until she got a really big one and handed it down to me. It is pretty cool to serve my children from it now. We even use it as a paint palate. 🙂

  2. i LOVE THE ONES IN THE WINDOW FRAME!!!! i LIKE ALL OF THEM. bUT THAT IS SO NEAT.

  3. I knew something was going on behind my back!

  4. I love plates too, but I’ve never really hung them anywhere 😦

    I guess I’ve never found the “perfect” spot.

  5. I LOVE, LOVE, LOVE decorating walls with plates. To me, it’s better than any print you can find at the most expensive store! I just think it adds so much character to a wall and is such an elegant look. And isn’t it so much fun searching for just the right plate? Yours are awesome.

  6. I do have a few plates and I like to put them on easels on top of the table or on top of my cupboards. I realize the biggest obstacle I face in displaying some of my stuff is my own husband who has such a penchant for modern and clean lines that its hard to meld our two distinct tastes sometimes 🙂

  7. Yes, scrumptious is what I would call your plates!!!

  8. ŞURA-TEM günümüz teknolojisi ile uyumlu ve teknolojiyi takip eden cam balkon tasarımlarına imza atmak için 2007 tarihinde hizmet sektörüne girmiş daha sonra zamanla ürün yelpazesini genişletmiş bir cam dekorasyon firmasıdır.

  9. Where do you get the more unobtrusive plate holders? I can’t find them!

    • Susan, I think I got them at an antique store…have you checked good old Walmart!?

  10. I am just like you when it comes to dishes!!! My dream house would have a gigantic butler’s pantry for all sorts of dishes. I completely understand the love!

  11. I love old plates, too. But I’m usually pretty clumsy, so I have a hard time actually USING them. I would rather just look at them and avoid the risk of breaking one. 🙂

  12. I love platters but have no wall space to display them. IF I had more room I would have many sets of dishes.

  13. I don’t, but I love that YOU have a love affair with plates so I can enjoy your photos 🙂

  14. I also love plates!! I have numerous “plate walls” and I never turn down old plates from my Mom and my Mimi even when it’s not really my taste, I’ll just work with it because it’s free!

  15. I know someone who collects different patterned plates for eating. It’s fun to eat at their house and decide where to sit at which place.


Leave a comment

Categories