Posted by: Robin~AllThingsHeartandHome | September 10, 2008

Kicking and Screaming

I have a life coach.  Everyone needs one.  Mine is Ruthie.  My precious Ruthie.  Ruthie is a personal trainer and has taken classes in life coaching.  But she didn’t need any.  She’s a natural.  Today she gave me a paradigm shift.  I’ve been pretty torn up about being an empty nester.  Pretty discouraged about Mike’s job and our money situation.  And hugely in freak out mode about what I’m supposed to do with my time.  Truth be told, I’ve been kicking and screaming as my life just moved fluid around me.  (As a rule I don’t “do” change well…)

She helped me see that this is an exciting time in our lives.  Mike and I got married when I had 3 little ones 4 years old and under! And Emma was born 11 months later.  So we’ve never been together without kids!  This is a great time for us.  And I had Bethany right before my 20th birthday, so I’ve never really been an adult without kids! I’m moving into a whole new stage.  Who knows what God has in store for me!

Ruthie made her case with much more enthusiasm than I just did.  But I’m just getting the hang of this “positive outlook”.  Oh yeah, and the best news is that Mike and I have managed to keep our relationship healthy.  We don’t have to look at each other and wonder “who are you”.  We love spending time together.  We’re best friends.  We love doing the same things.  Thank God we kept those weekly date nights!

So…here goes nothing. No more kicking and screaming…I’ll keep you posted ~Thanks Ruthie~


Responses

  1. This not Ruthie Commenting!
    This is Keith , also known in some circles as Mrs. Ruth’s Husband. She used me first as her very first Life Coach Practice Person. I think I have turned out pretty good thanks to Ruth who is MY Life Coach.

    Robin, those were some of the nicest words I have ever seen written about my Ruth. Thank you so much for them. I don’t think I ever knew you as an adult without children. I think you and Mike are going to be Awesome Empty Nester Ex-Parents. I know you will get it figured out. Hey just ask your Life Coach!
    Cheers!
    Mr. Coach, Dr. Keith Ingram AKA…Ruth’s Husband in some circles.

  2. I know it is heard to be alone. I am on the opposite end of the spectrum right now. It is only my husband and I, and the one thing we desire more than anything right now is to have children. We have been married 6.5 years and have been trying to have children for about 5 years now. It has been a long and emotional path for us. We love being with each other and are each other’s best friends, BUT we are ready to start our family.
    praying for you and God’s strength! have a great weekend.


Leave a comment

Categories