Posted by: Robin~AllThingsHeartandHome | April 23, 2009

Stephie’s Monster Cookies!

Today is Foodie Friday! Thanks to the amazing Gollum for hosting it! There are loads of links on her site with great food ideas for your weekend!

Also, Hooked on Houses is hosting Hooked on Fridays and I thought really, cookies and Fridays are a perfect combo! Thanks Julia for hosting~

But first let me take a moment to tell you…and I’ll try not to scream and jump up and down…

I was featured on Todays Creative Blog!!! WOOOO HOOOOOOO!  If you haven’t visited Kim you have to. I’ve been visiting her for quite some time and I’m not kidding EVERY time I leave there with an idea or fifty!  Head over there Peeps, I promise you WILL NOT be disappointed! And really I’m so humbled to be featured thank you Kim~(Did you guys see my amazing button from Kim?)

But on to All Things Yumalicious…Today I’m talking about a BIG, GIGANTIC, ENORMOUS, WHOPPING cookie! When Stephie was pregnant we went to the mall and indulged in this amazing cookie. It was called a Monster Cookie! (I’ve been telling you I had “Stephanie Pregnancy Weight” to loose, I wasn’t kidding!)

 Then after Elliot was born, Stephie and Jon’s good friends Joey and Jen delivered a great dinner along with these…these…COOKIES!!! Jen gave Stephie the recipe, they are called Marcy’s Legendary Chocolate Chip Cookies…

Stephie switched up the recipe just a bitty bit to make them like those yumalicious Monster Cookies, and Stephie, Ellie and I baked them yesterday!!!

Start here~

ingriedents-for-monster-coo

Are you ready for this? The recipe calls for 1 CUP of batter for EACH COOKIE!!!!! (These cookies are EXTRAVAGANT. Trust me, everyone grins when they see them! They’re as big as your head!)

1-cup-of-batter

Only 2 cookies per cookie sheet! Wow!

monster-cookies-baking

The recipe only makes 6 cookies!

monster-cookies

A little crispy on the outside and chewy on the inside!

monster-cookie-yum

Need I say more!? But Stephie and I didn’t think the pictures did justice to the SIZE of these puppies, so…

ridunkulous
We put one next to Baby Ellie…she took a look…

ellie-and-cookie-1

“Gigi do you see the SIZE of that thing???”

gigi-do-you-see-that-cookie

“It’s HUGE!”

its-huge

“It scares me a little bit!”

scary-monster-cookie

“I mean…what are we gonna do with that thing?”

stinkin-huge-cookie

“You’re going to do WHAT with it?”

gigi-do-you-see-that-cookie1

“Gigi, if you eat it, YOU’LL be HUGE !”

youll-be-huge-gigi

“Ahhhh, I can’t do a thing with my Gigi!”

i-cant-do-a-thing-with-my

Here’s the recipe Peeps.  We think these would be fun decorated for a kids party(like those cookie cakes). You could give one to each child as they LEAVE your house 🙂 Love and prayers for your weekend to be restful and lighthearted!!!

Stephie’s Monster Cookies

1 Cup unsalted butter

1  1/2 Cup packed brown sugar

1/4  Cup white sugar

1 Tablespoon vanilla

2 Lg. eggs

1 Egg yolk

2  1/2 Cups All Purpose Flour

3/4 teaspoon baking soda

1/2 teaspoon salt

1  1/4 Cup (really good) semi-sweet chocolate chips

1 Cup chopped semi sweet shocolate bar

1  1/4 Cup mini M & M’s

Preheat oven to 350*

Stack 2 baking sheets, one on top of the other. Line the top sheet with Parchment Paper.

Arrange oven to 3rd shelf position.

In Mixer:

Cream butter with both sugars till wll blended.  Add vanilla, eggs and egg yolk~ mix

In another bowl mix flour, baking soda and salt together.

FOLD the dry mixture in with the butter mixture. Batter will be thick. Now, FOLD in Chocolate Chips, Chopped Chocolate and M & M’s. It won’t be easy but contine to folding together till they are mixed.

(If batterr is too soft and greasy add 2-4 Tablespoons of flour…ours was just fine and didn’t need the extra flour)

Scoop out 7-8 ounces or 1 full CUP of dough!  You can bake 2 per baking sheet. They spread so don’t put them too close.

Bake for 20-24 minutes. We stuck a toothpick into the center to make sure it wasn’t raw in the middle!

Remove from oven and let cool on baking sheet for 15-20 minutes…

1 batter makes 6 cookies!!!

(This is the one and ONLY time in my life that I stopped after eating only 2 cookies!! Victory is mine!)

~Enjoy~


Responses

  1. Hi Robin,
    I will be visiting with Karyn in early May. You bring the monster cookies and that precious baby and we’ll provide the milk and coffee. They look so delicious!!!!

    Nola @ The Bloom Girls
    Nashville, TN

  2. LOL! Now that’s one huge cookie!! Love it ….
    http://happywonderer.wordpress.com/2009/04/23/foodie-friday-artichoke/

  3. Now that’s my kind of cookie! And as Goldilocks said “This one looks JUST right!”

  4. That is some cookie!! WOW! Love it!

  5. This could come in handy as an excuse–“I only had one cookie” 🙂 I hope it didn’t scare the baby!

  6. I am so confused, I thought you were going to give us a cookie recipe, all I see is that sweet, pretty Ellie that I just want to eat up!!!!! She is adorable.

    Please save a sample so I can dunk it in some Bucks coffee with you!

  7. That is one big cookie and one very adorable baby 🙂 Happy Friday x

  8. Ellie is getting to be such a big girl! I can tell she’s changing–ohhh so fast.

    I’m going to send a link to your blog to my new friend at glutenfreeislife.wordpress.com . I wonder if we can make them GF?

    Now I finally know what you’re talking about when you tell me about your weakness for cookies. No wonder.

  9. HA HA HA HA HA HA HA HA HA HA
    HA HA HA HA HA HA HA HA HA HA
    HA HA HA HA HA HA HA HA HA HA
    HA HA HA HA HA HA HA HA HA HA
    HA HA HA HA HA HA HA HA HA HA
    HA HA HA HA HA HA HA HA HA HA
    HA HA HA HA HHHHHHHHHHHHHA~

  10. Congratulations for being featured on Today’s Creative blog….Not a suprise for me…
    You are crazy amazing with creative energy and ideas…..cookie and baby are GREAT!!!

  11. Looks delicious! I don’t think I have EVER seen a cookie that big! LOL

  12. Happy Foodie Friday to you Robin.

    This is my first Foodie Friday and thank you for sharing your recipe for Monster Cookies, bigger than that sweet baby!

    The Raggedy Girl–Roberta Anne

  13. Thank you, I’ll do these for my daughter’s 10 bday party. She’ll love it! Wow! They are huge!

  14. Love to see so many others loving you too! Yea for being featured, congrats Robin!

    Wow, I am so excited to try these cookies:) Please tell Stephie thank you for sharing the recipe.

    And as if they aren’t enough, we get photos of baby girl too! To me it looks like her face is filling out just a smidge. Adorable! Have a great weekend 🙂

    81 yesterday, Robin!! 40 and rain today, but thats okay.

  15. Those cookies look yummy and dangerous (to my waistline anyway!) I’m guessing eating one of these would be totally worth extra time exercising. 🙂

  16. Cookies and cute babies what a a DELICIOUS post of some of my favorite things:)
    Joyce

  17. Oh woman… you’re preaching to the choir here! Monster cookies are my all-time favorite… we used to make them in high school for our trips to the lakes in the summer… they are to die for!!!

    [as is Elliot… could she be any cuter? seriously.]

  18. Hi Robin, Now that is a cookie! I’ll have to make these for work! That way we can say that we only had one cookie today, too! But I got to say that is one sweet little face! Congrats on being featured. I’m off to check that out! ~ Robyn

  19. Those cookies sound great but baby Ellie stole the show LOL How cute is she?!

    rue

  20. Yummy!!! I have to make these. I wanna frost them and stack it into a big cookie cake..lol. The pictures of her face looking at the cookie bigger than her head were cracking me up.

  21. Wowsers!!! Gotta love a cookie that’s bigger than your head!!! 🙂

    Looks yummy and totally NOT healthy — but who cares, it’s a culinary masterpiece and I want to eat one right now!!

    Thanks for sharing your recipe 🙂

    Kelly @ DesignTies

  22. The cookies look huge and yummy! But Ellie is the sweetest little thing I ahve seen yet on this food tour! How adorable!!!

  23. What yummy indulgence!

  24. Congrats on being featured in Todays Creative Blog – yeah for you! And, these cookies look amazing!

  25. I made these cookies this past weekend for my daughter’s 32nd birthday celebration. (I’m barely that old myself) The recipe was perfect…easy to understand and an easy cookie to make. I wrapped them in cello with a cute label and tied with polka dot ribbon and placed them on each guests plate. We had fun getting pictures and they were a hit. Thanks for a great recipe! I know I will make these over and over again!

  26. Keep coming back to this one!
    The pics and caps get’er done
    for me………………..funny stuff:)

    • We have the same sense of humor!!!! Cracks me up every time!

  27. Awesome! Maddie will like these!!

    Karyn


Leave a comment

Categories