Posted by: Robin~AllThingsHeartandHome | March 6, 2009

All Things Crafty~Ribbon Bookmarks!

 ~Ribbon Bookmarks~

bookmarks

I love these for party favors or little presents for my Peeps just for the heck of it! They’re easy and fun and the potential for exactly how you can decorate them with buttons, beads or trim is endless!!!

 Do you have extra ribbon lying around? How about buttons and beads?

bookmarks-on-corkboard

Start with these things…I have this tool that puts an eyelet in fabric so I used that to attach the “pretties” on the end of some of the bookmarks, but it works just as well to use a needle and attach the buttons or beads…

start-here

Cut ribbon about 11 inches. Iron the edges under and sew a few stitches to keep them that way!

iron-ends-2

To make the pretty bookmark jewelry use embroidery floss (separate it to 3 strands) and thread a button or bead…needle-and-button-1

Then remove needle and thread needle again with both ends…(all strands through the eye of the needle)

 

 needle-and-button-2

 Then have fun and thread buttons or beads … when you tie this off put a dot of either : Fray Check, Super Glue or Clear Nail Polish on the knot to keep it secure!

 needle-and-button-4

I also fell in mad love with this adorable button trim I found at Hobby Lobby so I added it to some of the bookmarks…have you got left over trim? This is a great way to use it up making something fun!

 book-with-all-bookmarks

Giving a book for a present? Tuck a bookmark inside for a little something extra!  

bookmarks-in-books 

Don’t ya love All Things Crafty?

 

 

 

 


Responses

  1. You are TOO MUCH!!! Speaking of someone who needs an Etsy store to sell things in…

  2. Yep, Gitz. I agree. And both of you know you can put an Etsy link in your sidebar and people can link right in from the blog, don’t you?

  3. Complete with photos. The link. I’m just sayin’.

  4. Yep, they’re adorable. But to make them, you have to actually have some sort of crafty talent. Since I don’t, that’s where people like you come in. So people like me can buy them. lol! Blessings, Susan

  5. Those are a fabulous idea! Get to work on the Etsy shoppe right this moment, girlfriend!

    Suzanne

  6. Ohhhh, you ARE too much!!!! I love this. Since I only know how to hand sew a basic stitch can I glue the ends or would it be okay to hand sew the ends? I do have buttons and beads… lots of them… such great ideas!!

    Thanks for the spring colors and fresh ideas!!

  7. Thanks for visiting my blog!!!

    Also I love to read and your bookmarks are a hit with me!! I will need to find some wide ribbon!!! Your bookmarks are beautiful!

  8. Aww, these are adorable! I can’t wait to make a bunch of these to use and give out. Thanks so much for sharing, I’ll be linking to this post.

  9. Hi Robin! Thank you for dropping by for a visit & I’m so happy that you did! Your blog is awesome! I love your pups, crafts & decorating projects. I’ll be back! ♥ Diane

  10. Hello my loved one! I wish to say that this article is awesome, nice written and include approximately all important infos. I’d like to see extra posts like this .


Leave a comment

Categories