Posted by: Robin~AllThingsHeartandHome | January 20, 2009

~Pause~

Today, I’m so thankful to be alive as history unfolds.  It doesn’t matter that I didn’t vote for him, today Barak Obama will become our nation’s first African American President.  He’ll be my president and I’m commited to pray for him.

This is an inaugural prayer offered 40 years ago by the Rev. Billy Graham…

 “We thank Thee for this torch of faith handed to us by our forefathers. May we never let it be extinguished. Thou alone hast given us our prosperity, our freedom and power. This faith in God is our heritage and foundation,

The whole world is watching to see if the faith of our fathers will stand the trials and tests of the hour. Too long we have neglected Thy word and ignored Thy laws. Too long we have tried to solve our problems without reference to Thee. Too long we have tried to live by bread alone,

So we pray, O God, as we enter a new era, that we as a nation may experience a moral and spiritual rest… And in the lonely moments of decision grant him an uncompromising courage to do what is morally right.”

Today and in the days to come, I’m praying that “in the lonely moments of decision, God would grant President Obama an uncompromising courage to do what is morally right…

 

 

 

 

Responses

  1. Very fitting Robin. Today is the day to put ourselves aside and give our time and attention and prayers for the leader of our nation. This is an excellent reminder!

  2. Amen, Sister! I didn’t vote for him either, but whole heartidly realize today was a very historic event in a way never seen before. He has my support and prayers because I recognize that there is a much, much bigger picture than my one vote!
    United we stand, divided we fall….
    ~Ginny

  3. I like this prayer. I often pray for govt. in waves. Not nearly consistently enough. Hopefully I’ll do better this year (and in the years to come).

  4. So well said. I also wrote a blog today in honor of our President and the prayer Pastor Rick Warren prayed. You know it is a shame that both the President and Warren are being critized for their stand. Let’s join to pray for our land to be healed.


Leave a comment

Categories