Posted by: Robin~AllThingsHeartandHome | April 20, 2009

Coffee Table Re-do!

 I’ve been looking for a coffee table forever!  We had an old trunk we used for years but it wasn’t big enough or comfortable. Then Stephie and Jon found this great old table and didn’t have room for it in their apartment, so we kept it for them until they moved into the house! We loved this coffee table. It’s huge. It’s roughed up so no need to worry about coasters! Everything about it was perfect for us. It is the coffee table that all coffee tables will forever be compared to. We thought seriously about moving and not telling them where we were going just so we could keep this coffee table!

I haven’t been able to find one even close to this one…

jon-and-stephs-coffee-table

In my desperation I settled. I found this one  for a hundred bucks at a second hand store. My thought was that I could mess around with the finish and make it look better…Coffee tables are pretty important… The Husband and I are empty nesters, sometimes we eat on our coffee table!  When the kids come over we use the coffee table for playing games or propping our feet up while we’re watching a movie!  (So the height of the coffee table is important. Check it out with the height of your sofa.The Husband chopped off about three inches from the legs of this one!)

before-21

before2 

I sanded it and used  primer…

prime-the-coffee-table1 

Then painted it with Plantation Beige, a color I used in the house somewhere…Then The Husband rubbed stain all over and wiped it off..

paint-over-primer1 

We used this same technique on our cabinets, doors and trim downstairs.

rifinished-cabinets

Here’s the finished product!

refinished-coffee-table

refinished-coffee-table-2

done-2

done1

Bella likes it! How’s that for a metamorphosis!? Head over to Between Naps on the Porch for some more before and afters!

bella-likes-the-bird


Responses

  1. Great table redo! Love the new color of it. — Was catching up on my post readings….The pics of your fam are great. Looks like everyone had fun. I’m gonna have to try that Texas Caviar. Sounds wonderful. Blessings, SusanD

  2. Wow! You worked a miracle on this table. Beautiful new color!!

  3. Oh, I am LOVING that coffee table!! I would love one like that for MY living room!! Great job, friend!

    Suzanne

  4. Beautiful. My favorite part is that BOTH of you took on this project. Even Bella is feasting her eyes on the beauty of your handi-work. Well done!

  5. Good morning, your coffee table looks great! Great job! Have a great Monday!

  6. Good morning, your coffee table looks great! Great job! Have a great Monday!
    Sorry, should have mentioned good post! Waiting on your next post!

  7. WOW!! You guys a did a great job. Very impressive. I love it! I need to learn that special little technique.

    We love Jon and Steph’s coffee table too, what a great find!

  8. You and hubby did a beautiful job! Your new coffee table looks great! I hope you get many years of enjoyment out of it.

    We’re empty nesters too so I know what you mean about eating dinner on it at times. I could so relate!

  9. What a great job! Love your “new” table.
    Sincerely ~ Tricia Anne

  10. Not going to lie… when I saw the first photo I couldn’t imagine what you were going to do with it… and you TOTALLY made it work. Totally. That was too impressive.

    Now, if Stephie ever decides she needs a change and has enough of the end table she took back from you, let her know I’d be happy to take it off her hands. I mean, now that you have such a perfect replacement you wouldn’t be needing it back…

    😉

  11. Wowzer! that is amazing! Absolutely beautiful!

  12. Great redo – I feel the same way about coffee tables….they should be for eating off and propper feat – just not at the same time : ) Linda

  13. Okay I need to have your coffee table. It would look great in my living room. Seriously though, I was wondering, did you need to sand it before you put on the primer? I am not to good at these types of things. What shade of stain did you rub into it? I really would like to thank you for visiting my blog, and I will be certain to visit here on a regular basis!
    Sorry for the multi questions.
    Cheers.
    Sue.

    • Sue you really do have to rough up the surface before putting on the primer. It gives the primer something to “hold” onto!

  14. It is GORGEOUS! 🙂

  15. Wow Robin, it turned out awesome! Great job! We need a new coffee table too! You have given me inspiration ! Have a great week!

    Karyn

  16. Robin…love it! I love the size and height…and the color! Great transformation! Love seeing all the in-between pics. 🙂
    Susan

  17. Oooo, look at that! You painted it! Now I am feeling a wee bit encouraged about all my projects. It looks GREAT!

  18. Fabulous! Found you on TCB. I’ll be back for more!

  19. Your coffee table looks great! Does it matter what shade of stain??

    Thanks,

    Karen~

    • Karen any color stain will work. We use whatever we have on the shelf!

  20. L.o.v.e it! It looks great! Much better than before!

  21. I love your blog and I love what you did with the coffee table! It looks great!

  22. i liked the rustic look of the first table, but the antiqued white is beautiful! great job!

  23. I was just wondering what the dimensions of your coffee table are? Your coffee table is beautiful and seems like the perfect size for our space.


Leave a comment

Categories