Posted by: Robin~AllThingsHeartandHome | April 5, 2009

Never underestimate the power of paint or chocolate!

Scroll down a tiny bit if you’re here for our Foodie Friday event hosted by our wonderful Gollum! I promise you’ll be wanting chocolate!

But first…I wasn’t thrilled with my go-to spring front door decoration when I pulled it down from the attic it looked tired and worn out. I like my red front door and want whatever’s on it to be welcoming and happy!

My old basket looked sad…but,

12

Never underestimate the power of paint!

I just pulled out my latte colored craft paint and dabbed and brushed all over the basket.

2

And waa-laa! I’m thrilled with it now…

sideways-door

best-red-door-all-things-he

What’s on your door? Prety good and super easy Metamorphosis don’t ya think? Check out all the before and afters over at Between Naps on the Porch! 

And now for the chocolate! It’s been in the 70’s and sunny here over the weekend but today a crummy front is moving through…I neeeed chocolate therapy and The Husband wanted chocolate pie! So I whipped one up on Sunday while the sun was shining and on Monday mid morning I’ll drown my sorrow in chocolate pie and cold milk and the chilly, rainy, rude Monday won’t seem quite so bad! See, I sometimes plan ahead!

The recipe is an easy cream pie recipe that can be used for chocolate cream, banana cream or coconut cream! My friend Leslie R., who is an actual cook, gave me this recipe years ago. I love it!

First mix

~3 egg yolks

~1/2 stick butter

~1 cup sugar

~3 very rounded tablespoons plus 1 level tablespoon flour

~2 cups milk (whole works best but you can use low or no fat)

~Cook on low slowly until thickened whisking the whole time(otherwise you’ll have scrambled eggs in your pie!)

~ Add 1 teaspoon vanilla annnnd:

~For Coconut~add 1 cup coconut

~ For chocolate~add 4 tablespoons cocoa

~ For Banana ~ add 4 or 5 sliced bananas…

14

 Put into cooked shell and chill

  22

Use 4 to 6 egg whites and a bit of sugar to make meringue

 3

Spread …

4

Bake at 325 until the tippy tops of the peeks turn light brown!

 5

Getting my spring on I set the table for The Husband!

  6

7

Help yourself, come on ya’ll, ya know ya want some!

81

9

Creamy dreamy…

10

111

121

I can take the rain and the cold…’cause spring’s comming! Can’t ya just feeeeel it?

131

Happy Monday Peeps~Love and sunny spring hugs~

 

 

Responses

  1. That’s one good looking pie!!!

    Your freshly-painted basket stands out nicely on your red door. Never underestimate the power of paint!! 🙂

    Kelly @ DesignTies

  2. Can’t believe that so little did so much for that basket!

  3. Robin…your basket turned out great…way to save it! Looks great on your red door…I’m kind of partial to red doors. 🙂 Oh, I could use a slice of that pie right now! Looks sooo yummy! Susan

  4. Looks great now! I like how it looks against the red door.

  5. You are a girl after my own heart! Paint and chocolate can solve almost any problem! The door looks great!

  6. I, of course, love your front door. Mine is red too. I am drooling over that pie. Yum!

  7. As Miss Rachel Ray has been known to utter, “Yum – O!”

    Scribbler

  8. Your basket is precious!
    Amazing what the paint did for it.

    Your pie looks so delicious!
    Thanks for sharing all the different variations. 🙂

  9. Looks very much like my grandmother’s recipe for chocolate pie. Bless her heart, the woman couldn’t cook, but her choco pie was great…and it’s the only recipe I have in her handwriting.

    LOVE the basket.

  10. That basket looks brand new! And how lucky is your husband?!

  11. Amazing what a little paint can do! Your basket transformation is awesome!

    And talk about amazing…that chocolate pie looks incredible. My husband LOVES chocolate pie so thank you for the recipe. I’ll be giving this one a try!

  12. I really like your door decoration, can you mail me a piece of that pie! It looks delicious! :O) Mary from Boogieboard Cottage

  13. Great look on the basket! So much cuter and more noticeable! Linda

  14. Oh, what a beautiful job on the basket! It really says spring now! The chocolate pie looks divine!
    Be a sweetie,
    Shelia 🙂

  15. Okay, I’ve never seen mile high meringue like this. AMAZING. Love your table clothe too!

    You inspire me.

  16. Yes, I still believe spring will come and when it does I will not stop talking about it! But in the meantime I plan to keep coming here for all things spring and fun! That basket is so cute against your red door 🙂

  17. Beautiful transformation of your door basket! Love how it looks on that pretty red door!!!

    Ohhh my, just have to tell you that your chocolate pie looks absolutely scrumptious!!! It sure turned out pretty too…in fact, those photos belong in a cookbook!!!

    Happy Met Monday!
    Warmest wishes,
    Chari

  18. I am stopping by via BNOTP. Great transformation! Yummy pie.

  19. Hi! I love the red door. I am a red person through and through. Your front door looks great with the new and revised basket….but ummm could you come metamorph some chocolate pie at my house. I’ll send you a plane ticket to South. Calif. It is beautiful today and I’d love the visit….over pie and coffee. Yum. You’ve got my mouth watering girl!!!!
    Blessings,
    Debbie

  20. Very pretty and also yummy. You always make me hungry,,,you evil women you! haha
    Good idea to revive old sconces or baskets again. I have some metal cone vases I have sprayed bright yellow this week for spring door decor.
    Also, I am blown away with Between Naps on the Porch “Befire and Afters” I would stay on that porch all day, just beautiful!

  21. The front door basket looks marvelous. So pretty and fresh. The chocolate pie is also wonderful. My favorite pie. Hugs, Marty

  22. Yum. Maybe we need a pie AND banana pudding on Easter… Elliot agrees.

  23. That’s a great idea to freshen up old decorations! And that DESSERT!!! Oh. My. Divine. I’m bookmarking this recipe. Even if only to just look at it… haha…

  24. The pie looks delicious. I hope it is the nonfatting kind!. Great new door look too

  25. Wow those pie’s look great!

  26. The basket turned out so fresh and inviting! It is amazing what a little latte will do! Thank you for sharing your quick tip.

    Happy Monday!
    Debbykay at Rose Cottage Gardens and Farm

  27. your front door looks fantastic…nothing on my front door. I need to first give it some paint, its just white.

    oh and that pie, oh my gosh that is yummy looking
    hugs
    janet

  28. OH MY! That pie looks amazingly delicious! Will have to make it SOON! Yummmy!

  29. I bet it is all gone now! Bummer – I would come over right now! I am doing Allie’s nanny job while she is out of town and I have 4 kids (7 months, 17 months, 3 and 4) I NEED CHOCOLATE, and I need it NOW 🙂

    Looks delish! I hope “the husband” knows how good he has it 🙂

    Blessings to you!

    Karyn

  30. Wowzer, that is amazing pie. The door was cute but the pie makes you forget everything and makes you want to tear the door down to get to the pie!

  31. Robin, Cute basket transformation – but I thought it was cute before, too. Then when I scrolled down to the pie – YUM! Happy Easter! (I’m adding this to my favs….who couldn’t use chocolate) ~ Robyn

  32. I love meringue on a pie! I know it was delicious!

    Hoppy Friday!
    ~Really Rainey~

  33. Yowza! that pie is unbelievable! Very copy-worthy! Thank you for sharing!

    Happy Easter

  34. I’m loving the cream pie!! Great recipe. You really did perk up the look of your basket, too! Great job!

  35. You’re right! I do want a bite! Please!


Leave a Reply

Categories

