Posted by: Robin~AllThingsHeartandHome | February 2, 2009

Go Red For Women

go-red-for-women

Go Red for Women

I’m interrupting this Organizing Monday to remind you about Go Red For Women, the organization that is bringing awareness about women’s heart health to the forefront.  February 6th is National Wear Red Day.  This cause is near and dear to me. I’ll explain…

My mom was only 65 when she left this world. She was healthy as far as we knew. She walked on her treadmill 45 minutes a day and kept all her Drs. Appointments year after year. Heck, she worked for a Dr. as a Physician’s Assistant, until she was 60! She took vitamins and minerals, ate pretty well…although she did love her sugar.  🙂

In October 2005 she went to see the Dr. after feeling out of breath a lot. After examining her they discovered she had a blocked carotid artery.  She had surgery and when she didn’t feel better, more tests were done. A couple of days after Christmas 2005 she went into Saint Joes for a heart cath. It didn’t work. The next day they did Bypass surgery. Except for a brief time, she never woke up. She left us on December 30, 2005, partly because of Coronary Artery Disease.  A silent, deadly disease that can go undiagnosed for years on end and often, once it is diagnosed it’s too late. A disease that can take you or a loved one without warning. 

All that to say, take a minute and click over to the Go Red For Women site.  Meander around for a bit. Get advice on “numbers” you should have checked yearly. Take control of your health. After all, we’re talking about your heart here…Send the link to women in your life who are important to you.  You don’t have to be old or overweight to have coronary artery disease…

Love to you my friends and prayers for both your spiritual and your physical heart…smooches~( Organizing Monday will be Organizing Tuesday this week!!!)

Ps…do you know your numbers? If not pick up the phone and make an appointment to get blood-work…pull out the tape measure and measure your waist.  This is important, here’s what they should be…

 

 

 

Factor Goal
Total Cholesterol Less than 200 mg/dL
LDL (“Bad”) Cholesterol LDL cholesterol goals vary.
Less than 100 mg/dL
 
100 to 129 mg/dL
 
130 to 159 mg/dL
 
160 to 189 mg/dL
 
190 mg/dL and above
Optimal
 
Near Optimal/Above Optimal
 
Borderline High
 
High
 
Very High
HDL (“Good”) Cholesterol 50 mg/dL or higher
Triglycerides <150 mg/dL
Blood Pressure <120/80 mmHg
Fasting Glucose <100 mg/dL
Body Mass Index (BMI) <25 Kg/m²
Waist Circumference <35 inches
Exercise Minimum of 30 minutes most days, if not all days of the week

 

Responses

  1. Thank you for posting this Robin. Five out of five aunts on my Dad’s side of the family have had bypass surgery and all of my grandparents whose cause of death is known=heart disease.

    My numbers were great last time I had them checked, but I was working out regularly and my diet was very, very good then. I dutifully ate high fiber cereal every day… but I have fallen out of those good habits.

    I have been praying for reminders of what kept me so motivated for so long. I believe this post will speak to many as it has spoken to me. Thank you for taking the time!

    I will make an appointment to get my numbers again. And here’s a note to anyone with high cholesterol: High fiber cereal works wonders! It only takes about 1/2 cup of All Bran’s buds daily to really kick start your program. And stay AWAY from hydrogenated oils. They’re in tons of packaged foods, and they are terrible for your heart. Just say no!

  2. On Gitz’s blog, there is a tiny silver bar with an even tinier little arrow that you can click to hear the song. Hope that helps. 🙂

  3. Hi Robin! I’m so sorry to hear about your mom’s passing. She was so young! In my day job, we work with the american heart association to help promote the campaign, so thank you so much for getting the word out. It’s so important. I really need to get another checkup, too.
    sending you supportive hugs…

  4. Thanks for the wonderful post today. I am so sorry that your Mom died like that and so suddenly after your Brothers death. My Mom also had a triple by-pass in Winter of 2005 at 65 years old. It was not long after we lost Brad and I was so affraid of her going in to surgery. It took her quite a while to recover, but she is doing well now. She goes to the Y w/my Dad and exercises regular. Thank you for your great advise..i”m trying to get better about taking care of myself (since I was so bad after Brad died).

    On that note, your chili was a hit and I made some chewy butterscotch brownies that were sinful, while we’re talking health. I will be sending them home w/Jonathan tonight and get them out of my house. haha. Much Love, Lenora

  5. So glad you’re touching lives because of where you’ve been.

    Lenora, I remember you from high school–rejoicing that your mom is doing well. The Y is a wonderful place–my husband and I have started going together.

    Hugs,
    Julie

  6. Such good information Robin. A reminder of those numbers is sooo good to have. We actually looked up the number today for the new gym that opened up down the street from us! There is no time like today to get with it 🙂

  7. Hi, sweetie… what a beautiful way to honor your mom. I’m sure there is nothing she would want more than for other women to be aware and take care of themselves.

    Admittedly, my numbers are not good, but with my medical problems and medications they will probably stay that way… but I do try to be conscious of food choices knowing that it’s an issue. Micro s’mores, though… if they’re bad for me I don’t want to know about it…


Leave a Reply

Categories

