Posted by: Robin~AllThingsHeartandHome | January 23, 2009

Weekend Fun Food! (That won’t add to your abbs!)

Fun Food for the Weekend!!!

It’s the weekend and I want Super FUN FOOD!!!  The Husband and I are trying to be good and when we’re trying to be good, I trim the fat and calories all kinds of ways…but whatever I do, I will be eating something yumalicious on the weekend!

dsc_00341

mudslide-cookies-0261

Last Saturday night we put on our flannels and made Chicken Breast Burgers! Okay, these aren’t simply chicken burgers, I go to the butcher and get them to grind chicken breast. They never want to do it, and they all hide when they see me coming…oh well.

I’ll tell you how to keep them from being dry! The Husband and I would seriously rather have these than Moo Burgers!

You need this:

Ground Chicken Breasts…4 breasts makes 6 burgers.

3 Pepper Mix 1 Cup~(It’s green, red, and yellow peppers chopped up) Publix has this, but I’m not sure about any other grocery store. But you could always chop up peppers yourself…very tiny. You will need to chop the peppers to make them reeeeally small even if you get the 3 Pepper Mix at the grocery store…I forgot to do this…woops. (The peppers are  what keeps the burgers from being dry…somehow, I don’t know. I’ll ask Anita’s hubby!)

5 or 6 sprinkles of dry chicken seasoning(I use Grill Mates Roasted Garlic & Herb!)

2 or 3 shakes or Worcestershire Sauce

Mix and make patties…they need to be packed really well~

You can grill them on the grill or use the stove-top. Cook them on med. Or low and use Olive Oil (which can’t get too hot, so don’t turn them up!)

They take a long time to cook and I added a bit more Olive Oil and sprayed some Pam when the pan dried out~

We had these with some sharp provolone cheese on top and some rosemary oven fries! Okay the fries aren’t great for you but they ARE baked not fried!!!

 

dsc_00022

dsc_00051

dsc_00181

dsc_0029

 

dsc_0034

And yesterday, I tried another sweet recipe from Cooking Light! Go HERE to get the recipe or just make the Brownies I told you about because HOLY COW THEY’RE AMAZING!!!!!

Mudslide Cookies…here’s the thing…I’m so sorry Bill (Cycle Guy’s Spin) & Sara (Gitzen Girl) I know you hate coffee, but see, I had this huge thing of instant coffee and for the love of Pete…I have to find a way to use it! So these puppies have instant coffee in them like the brownies did.  And Peeps, one thing I’ve learned about cooking lite…follow the recipes exactly! I’m just sayin.

  mudslide-cookies-017

mudslide-cookies-013

mudslide-cookies-014

mudslide-cookies-019

mudslide-cookies-026

mudslide-cookies-030

I’m praying that every one of you will have a great weekend… and please… eat something super fun!!!

Responses

  1. Shoot, I need to find out what’s wrong with our grill. Meant to remind Ricky to check the starter. These look amazing and I think I can have them.

    Love Mike’s matching pj’s. Too cute. 🙂

    Even your green bowl is pretty–looks like an antique.

    Love your attention to detail my friend.

    Happy Weekend,
    Jewels

  2. Jewles…try them on your stove, they are great even not on the grill!
    I bet you’d love these, I just know it!!!
    The cookies, I know you can’t do. You have to share some gluten free yummies with us sometime! love love love

  3. Robin.
    I live in a vacuum or something. I’ve never heard of ground chicken! Your photos make it look scrummy though, so I’m going to have to try it out! Thanks for the recipe!

  4. Those burgers look pretty good. Were the cookies as good as the brownies? You are really dedicated to eating well. With that and all the working out, no wonder you are so trim.

    Is that bun wheat or white? I can’t tell.

  5. Wow, baking yummy nutritous stuff and making it to the gym TOO! you are wonder woman…!
    xxooo

  6. I am always looking for new ways to make chicken and that definitely looks tasty. Do you put any kind of light mayo or anything other than the cheese? They look flavorful enough so I am guessing you don’t really need any. Thanks for sharing!

  7. I’ll have to ask Keith about the peppers.

  8. Went to Publix JUST FOR YOUR PEPPERS. 🙂 Got everything to make the burgers. Ricky said he’ll fix the grill tonight!

    You’re my inspiration.

  9. I am going to give them a whirl. The cookies look great!

  10. Hey you stole our Chicken Burger’s recipe and didn’t if reference use us credit or give……. That ain’t cool!!!
    Tell us all where you had you first Chcken Burger……

  11. Great idea to use ground chicken. I suppose that the packaged, already ground chicken at the store would not taste as good? I have used ground turkey for burgers and they came out good too. Love all of your pictures and recipes. Thanks!

    • The prepackaged chicken at my Publix has dark meat and white meat. I like the idea of only eating the breast meat when I’m trying to cut the fat! But I’m sure the other would be even better!

  12. its not right to crave mudslides for breakfast is it…

  13. What a divine idea–chicken patties! It looks heart-healthy as well as tasty.
    I am so glad to meet another Publix shopper. It’s my hangout. 🙂
    Thank you so much for the great recipes. I’m looking forward to reading more.

  14. Mmmm! These sound good to me. I am trying these! ~ Robyn

  15. This all looks so good. YUM!

    The cookies look truly amazing! ;0

  16. These photos are fabulous.
    I’ve used ground turkey but nevah CHICKEN…
    My hubby is a chicken eater, tho, and I may try this for him…
    Thanks for the recipe…

  17. Oh wow! Two recipes I’m crazy about! Thanks for sharing!

  18. Oh my this looks and sounds wonderful thanks for sharing…hugs and smiles Gl♥ria


Leave a Reply

Categories

