Posted by: Robin~AllThingsHeartandHome | January 16, 2009

Something Yumalicious that won’t make you Chubalicious!

Happy Friday! It’s practically the weekend and I’m in the mood for something yumalicious! But The Husband and I are trying to shed our Christmas Chub so I can’t use one of my fattening go-to recipes. No worries, I hit the Cooking Light website for something that wouldn’t blow up my thighs any more than … you know! (Confession: I still haven’t given up my 1 microwave s’more a day! I just needed to share that with you….) Here’s what I found…

Fudgy Mocha-Toffee Brownies from Cooking Light

Now this is not my picture…I took pictures…beautiful pictures. But The Husband and I got this new camera for our anniversary and I can’t get it to upload the pictures to my computer! I could barely figure out how to turn it on, I’m not kidding, this is going to be a “process”.

Anyhoo, the 411 on the brownies is this…they are reeeally good. Not GREAT, but hey they’re low fat and calories. They have this scrumptious thin crispy top layer that made it difficult to cut and still keep them looking pretty.  Don’t for the love of pete, over cook them!  With cold milk or hot coffee, well your naughty self will feel satisfied! Go here for the recipe: Fudgy Mocha Toffee Brownies ! (I didn’t have instant coffee so I used 1/4 cup left over brewed coffee!)

****UPDATE***I tried these a second time and used the instant coffee the recipe called for and WOW!!! These were off the hook!!!! GREAT, AWESOME, SUPER YUMALICIOUS!!! Anita’s hubby said the coffee would make them better…he was right! Try them Peeps and just follow the recipe!*************************************************************************

Here’s my question…are you trying to eat healthier? And if you are what do you do to satisfy your naughty self? (If you have any good recipes for this please share!)

Responses

  1. I won’t have to worry about getting fat on these things no matter how many I ate. You blew it for me as soon as you mentioned coffee. Anything with coffee, coffee aftertaste, coffee on the label gets nixed by my family. Yep, we are a no-coffee household. Me. Wife. 2 adult daughters.

  2. I wanted to thank you for your prayers and sweet words on Parker’s blog.

    The brownies look amazing.

  3. Delicious. I love brownies. I’m sure if you combine these with mint chocolate chip ice cream it will cut the calories in half–as always happens when you mix hot and cold things to gether:) Have a great day and thx for the follow on twitter.
    Lori

  4. They look great. Have you ever tried dark chocolate covered raisins or dk choc. covered dried cherries? Just a few raisins or ONE cherry kills my chocolate craving. They are SO good! I wonder if the instant coffee would make a big difference…I asked Keith (resident Real Cook). He said he thinks it would because the instant coffee melts. Hmm. We might have to try these.

  5. BTW, “He knows best so I simply try to do what I’m told”? Good answer!

  6. I am trying to eat healthy 80% of the time. I am a carb addict so I am only eating them once a day to try to curb the desire for them. It has worked for the last couple of weeks. I guess I will know if it is working when my old jeans do not cut the circulation off.

  7. I’m less focused on healthy eating and more focused on cheap eating for my grocery bills 🙂 But I have to say… micro s’mores will always be on my list!

    I, like Bill, hate the taste of coffee so anything with that flavor is out… and as far as chocolate goes, I’m the opposite of Anita. I’m definitely a poor-man’s-chocolate girl. Give me anything Hershey’s and I’m happy. I don’t like the fancy dark chocolates or Godivas – I’d rather have a tootsie roll. Weird, I know.

  8. Hi Robin – thanks for visiting my blog – I will try to embed the code for the STOP PUPPY MILLS blog for you here – and YES!!! Isn’t Landon Pigg wonderful. You should get his new CD if you don’t already have it, some wonderful stuff there. Oh and THANK YOU for bringing me over here and tempting me with those brownies!!!
    love and pughugs from Texas,
    Nancy a nd the fatties
    here is that code
    HSUS MySpace Page | Stop Puppy Mills Website

  9. Well, darn that silly code came out as a link! if you want to email me at nancnpugs@msn.com I will send it to you!
    xxooo

  10. Anita thank you for asking your hubby about the instant coffee. Cooking Light uses instant coffee in several of their dessert recipes and I always cheat! I’m buying some and trying a few of them again. Goooooood tip!
    Sweetie Gitz & Bill…I just can’t imagine not drinking coffee…wait, I’m trying…hummmmm, nope I can’t do it. Coffee is to me…the nector of the gods.
    There are 2 brownies left and I’m going downstairs for one of them!

  11. […] I tried another sweet recipe from Cooking Light! Go HERE to get the recipe or just make the Brownies I told you about because HOLY COW THEY’RE […]


Leave a Reply

Categories

