Posted by: Robin~AllThingsHeartandHome | January 7, 2009

Stupid Fun!

 Stop~Drop~and Roll…I’m gonna need Stupid Fun today!

It’s the first Wednesday of the year…I’m a little shell shocked from the holidays. The cure: Stupid Fun!

I’m easily amused. No surprise here. I have this really stupid, but really fun thing I love to do…read opening lines in books!

Sometimes The Husband and I go to a bookstore and I spend an hour going through books reading the first line. I sometimes write them down if I like them. I’ve even been known to buy the book if I love the first line. A long time ago, I bought a book that had my favorite first line to date. I’ll tell you what it was in a minute!

Last year I wrote down the first lines of books I was reading here are a few of my favs…

 

He understood what they were thinking and saying: old man that he is, what’s to become of him?” To Dance With A White Dog/ Terry Kay

 

Life changed fast.” The Year of Magical Thinking/Joan Diddon

 

I became what I am today at the age of 12,on a frigid overcast day in the winter of 1975.” The Kite Runner/Khaled Hosseini

 

They shot the white girl first.” Paradise/Toni Morrison

 

I am ninety or ninety three. One or the other.” Water for Elephants/Sara Gruen

 

My favorite opening line to date though is from:

Divine Secrets of the Ya Ya Sisterhood/Rebecca Wells

Tap dancing child abuser.”

 

I’m not gonna lie, once I read that opening line, I knew I wasn’t leaving the bookstore without that book!

 

Have you ever lollygagged in a bookstore reading opening lines?

Okay, if not, do you have anything else you do for stupid fun? If you’re anything like me, you might want to pull out your “stupid fun” in the next few days! Can’t hurt, might help! Love to you~TTFN~

Responses

  1. “How can I be a widow? Widows wear horn-rimmed glasses and cardigan sweaters that smell like mothballs and have crepe-paper skin and names like Gladys or Midge and meet with their other widow friends once a week to play pinochle.”

    Okay, two lines. I cheated. Good Grief by Lolly Winston

    I could play this forever.

    Love,
    Julie

  2. “It was inevitable: the scent of bitter almonds always reminded him of the fate of unrequited love.”

    Favorite line ever. Favorite book ever.

    Love in the Time of Cholera by Gabriel Garcia Marquez.

    Lub me some books!
    C

  3. What does it mean to truely love another?

    Dear John by Nicholas Sparks.

  4. Not stupid, just plain fun! “You know before you know, of course. You are bending over the dryer, pulling out the still-warm sheets, and the knowledge walks up your backbone.”

    Open House by Elizabeth Berg.

  5. Oh these are so good. Julie’s been trying to get me to read Good Grief for years…maybe I will. and I haven’t read the Nicholas Sparks one yet…I’ve read Open House and Love in the Time of Cholera…
    But I want to run out and get Open House and read it again after that opening line!!!! Love that!

  6. “I heard the killers call my name.”

    From “Left to Tell” by Immaculee Ilibagiza … true story of her survival in the Rwandan Holocaust.

    Horrifying. Heartbreaking. Humbling. MUST READ.

  7. Yes, yes, I loved Open House. I’ve read all of Elizabeth Berg’s book. I get her fan club letters. She sends hard copy letters–not emails! Isn’t that quaint.

    Jewels

  8. “my life–my real life–started when a man walked into it, a handsome stranger is a perfectly cut suit and, yes, i know how that sounds.” love walked in by marisa de los santos. i know you’ve read it already, but it’s so good it may inspire someone who hasn’t to do so!

    for stupid fun, we’ve taken to playing catch phrase. it’s a game where you have to define something without using the word, and there’s a timer that makes the game device like a hot potato. it’s funny to watch my loved ones trying to describe something…we played it over the holiday and it was great!

  9. P.S. stupid fun does NOT entail going to the gym, although i have been there 3 times this week. how ’bout you?

  10. Hmm. I have spent hours lingering in bookstores, but never reading opening lines. I am a bookworm with an insatiable appetite, but I don’t have a favorite first line. Sad. Too sad! I will have to try this one day. It sounds like fun.

    Stupid fun….stupid fun…I’m trying really hard to think of what I do for stupid fun. I know I do stupid stuff and think it’s fun, but I’m having trouble thinking of it right now…I may have to report it to you the next time I do one of my stupid things.


Leave a Reply

Categories

