Posted by: Robin~AllThingsHeartandHome | December 31, 2008

(No?) New Year’s Resolutions…

I’m a closet resolution maker! It’s in vogue these days not to make New Year’s Resolutions. People talk about not wanting to fail and feeling bad when they break the resolution. And I agree! I’ve broken more that my fair share of ’em! 

Making an off the cuff resolution with no planning is sure enough a recipe for failure. But, here’s the thing … “Shoot for the moon and even if you miss you’ll land among the stars” is how I see resolutions.

Last year I had tons of things I wanted to do. Things to change and tweak about my life. And to be honest, there were lots of things I didn’t do. Things I did and that just failed miserably.

But hey, there were bunches of little victories too! So, maybe I won’t call them “resolutions” (so I can be a part of the “in” crowd), but as 2008 comes to a tired end I’m making a “careful exploration of my life” and coming up with some new things I’d like to do as 2009 hands me 12 months of brand spankin new opportunity.

I like to start is with my non-negotiable list, you know, those things I have to do to keep me on this side of sanity. (I will not say which side of sanity I’m talking about!) Anyhoo…

My non-negotiables:

1) Prayer

2) Bible Study

3) Exercise & Eating (somewhat) right

4) Time with Mike

5) Writing

6) Keeping my world in order

7) Reading

8) Church

9) Quality time with my family

10) Quality time with friends

I look at each of those and prayerfully consider what I need to change going forward…

 To keep up with all of it, I use my trusty planner. Now, I’ve tried lots of different planners and right now, I’m pretty fond of this one by Franklin Covey…

2008-12-29_0001

I also love Moleskine Journals to keep up with ideas and lists! I keep several of these in different places for when inspiration hits!

2008-12-29_0003

 

I do lots of planning and organizing in January. So once a week, starting Monday, I’m going to do: 

 Organizing Monday’s!

I’ll take you with me as I reorganize my little world! Maybe we can get a few ideas from each other! (I’m starting with my tiny pantry, it’s looking scary-spice right now!)

I have ideas & plans coming out the wazoo and I won’t bore you with all that but I do want to leave you with a really good thing The Husband and I started doing in ’08, something we’ll keep up in ’09!

The Husband and I try to have a devotion together Monday-Thursday nights. We’ve done lots of different things, but one day we stumbled on this…

Pastor Pete who blogs at Without Wax, has a series archive at his Crosspoint Church. Each message is 30 minutes long and there are series like: No Regrets, Cure for the Common Life, My Messed up Family! Each series has about 4 messages.  The Husband and I take 1 or 2 nights a week and listen to one of Pastor P’s messages. We love it! (I sneak sometimes, and listen to one during the day when I need a little inspiration!) Just an idea that’s worked for us!

Do you make resolutions or plans for the new year? What kinds of things are on your list?


*******Crosspoint church just changed their website and Pastor Pete says all of the messages will be up soon, now there are a couple of the latest series up(click on latest series)he’s gonna get back with us next week and I’ll update you! Sorry guys!****************************************************************************************************************

Responses

  1. Ohhh, thank you. I hadn’t been able to find Pastor Pete’s archived sermons.

    I need to hold your planner–see what you write.

    Love,
    Julie

  2. I just finished writing my post for tomorrow… my life situation is different so New Year’s and resolutions tend to depress me to no end, so I gave up on that, but do have a different take on keeping myself focused in the year to come.

    I LOVE your list… it is so you and your heart. And I soooo wish I was there to organize your pantry. Stuff like that just makes me tickled with joy. 😉 Seriously. Sometimes I mess stuff up just to organize it again. (Don’t tell anyone I’m crazy like that, k?)

    😯

  3. First, please move quality time with friends to number five. I need coffee time with you weekly.

    Second, I must be the last person on earth to know about mole skin journals. Kayla wanted one for Christmas and I had no clue what she was talking about. They are great now that I know about them.

    Third, each year I ask God to give me a work for the year. The word works it self into each area of my life. I am still praying about 2009 and my word.

    And finally, I love you! Happy New Year!

  4. Robin,

    Let the organizing begin! We just carted 10 boxes (big boxes) of clothes and shoes to good will right before we left. The sad part? I could probably pack several more. Decluttering is one part of my list. But not a resolution per se. I am so going to love you sharing this with us!

    I just try to use New Years to refocus what is important to me and then look for areas I would like to or need to strengthen. Do you know what I focused on last year? Developing new friendships!

    I am so honored and blessed to know you and have the distinct pleasure of calling you friend!

    Happy New Year to you and yours!

  5. I’m just falling in love with you! You are neat. I like to visit your blog – I always come away with something I want to try, do, or change. Woo hoo!

  6. Vicky hooked Me up with You! Love your writing.
    Great book list as well.
    Organizing is key on my list. I’m anal to a fault.
    Thanks for the links to Pastor Pete. He sounds wonderful. I’m having trouble getting to the ‘series’ parts that you were talking about. I can’t find them on his site nor the CrossPoint Church. I must be looking in the wrong places.
    Please help me out.
    Happy New Year!


Leave a Reply

Categories

