Posted by: Robin~AllThingsHeartandHome | December 16, 2008

A Christmas Box full of memories…

mom-deb-me-2003-1 One Christmas about 15 years ago, I gave my mom a Christmas gift that was a bit unconventional. I filled a box full of things that reminded me of (some of) the ways my mom showed me love…I wanted to tell her that I remembered. To tell her some specific ways she’d so influenced my life…I included a letter explaining each little treasure.

I was thinking about this today and wondered if perhaps some of you might want to put together your own little box of treasures to give to a parent, a spouse, a sibling or a friend…

(If you don’t want to read this just scroll down to the Ps… 🙂

 

Here’s a little of what I wrote to mom…

This may seem like a trunk full of random things Mom, but each of these little things represents a significant way you have impacted my life…

The Spatula … this is a pleasant reminder of lazy Saturday afternoons when you would bake up a batch of wonderful chocolate chip cookies…the aroma, the taste, the warmth of home. You passed that along to me…the warmth of home.

Spools of colored thread…this makes me remember all of the clothes you’ve sewn for me over the years~ In second grade my teacher told me that I was the best dressed little girl in the whole class! Now, I love to sew for my children. It’s one way, I can show them love. Thank you for teaching me how…

Candle ...this makes me think of the many nights you spent awake with a sick daughter. Ice chips for a nagging cough, a humidifier for a stuffy nose, Vicks Vapor Rub for congestion. I always knew that I could call on you, even in the middle of the night if I needed you, and you would be there.

Potpourri…this reminds me of the beauty you brought into our home. Like the potpourri made with a mixture of flowers, herbs, fruits and oils, there was a mixture in our house too, beauty with attention to detail. You taught me how to make a house a home.

Candy dish…makes me think of the many confections you made for us. Divinity and fudge at Christmas time, beautiful cakes on every special occasion…you were never afraid to attempt anything. I loved watching you even in the kitchen you were creative…

Wool Scarf…makes me think of the warmth you showed during my childhood and beyond. Remember all the times you’ve talked me through a crisis? Remember all the times you were with me when I was most vulnerable? I can always count on you. Thank you

Dish towels…make me think of all the hard work you did when you kept our home clean and neat. So much work for one person. I was always so proud to have my friends over. I want my home to say welcome and be a place my children are proud of…

The Sunflower…You’ve always planted flowers and vegetables and this pretty sunflower can serve as a reminder of that. Flowers are one of my passions and it was your love for them and how yalways had them arranged so beautifully here and there throughout the house, that made such an impression on me~yet another gift you passed along…

The Nativity…By far the most important gift you gave me…your faith. For as far back as I can remember, your faith has been strong. To live your life required a strong faith and you passed that faith on.

 Thank you for all the gifts you’ve given me.. Those gifts, which became the very threads of my essence. God hand picks parents just as surely as he creates the child they give life to … I’m glad God picked you for me. I love you mom~

 I share this because I thought it might spark in someone a desire to be intentional and specific with your love this Christmas season~

 

 

Ps…I’m posting the yumalicious dessert recipes some of you asked for on my blog tomorrow~love love love~

 

Responses

  1. This is what it’s all about. This is what counts. How we love. Most everything else is forgotten. Thank you for putting is out here to us–for showing us how to love with our whole hearts.

    Julie

  2. Oh Robin that is beautiful! I know someone who has had a difficult year with their mother and something like this would be excellent!

    When are you going to hijack writer friend Julie to help you outline that book?

  3. You are such a special human being, Robin. I couldn’t hardly see this BlackBerry screen for the tears….

  4. Truly, touching. What a wonderful way to celebrate someone you love! I may be leaving snow pictures up for days to come as I am fresh out of ideas to share! Thanks goodness I can come here for fresh ideas 🙂

    Blessings Robin! Thanks for setting the bar so high!

  5. ~SWEEET~

  6. Your dad’s comment made me smile 🙂

    My mom’s 65th birthday is on the 20th and all the kids and grandkids are writing her letters with their best memory of her, which will go into a lovely box.

    I love the sentiment and beauty of this post… you have such a lovely heart.

  7. That is the best picture of you and your mom!! Both your smiles are soo precious.

    What a great gift. I am going to work on a box for several people.

    We are so proud of our cookies! Thank you for helping make a special time with my girls. It was such a gift to me.

  8. That was me, not Candy. Ruthie

  9. […] I wanted to share it with you with hopes that one of you may consider doing this for your mom…(I posted this idea in more detail here.) […]


Leave a Reply

Categories

