Posted by: Robin~AllThingsHeartandHome | December 5, 2008

Most Painful Moment in Christmas Movie History.

I was watching the Santa Claus 2 with Stephie while we were decorating her house the other day. When this part came on we both stopped and watched. I don’t know, like a terrible train wreck, we couldn’t look away. It was painful for me. Physically painful.

I’m one of those people that can’t watch the horrible American Idol auditions. I mean the ones where the poor people can’t carry a tune and don’t seem to know it. Those hurt me. Physically. I’m not kidding. I squint my eyes. I ball up my fists. I screech. Then I turn the channel. Or God forbid if I go to a wedding and the bride’s sister sings. Just because she’s the sister. Not because she can sing. I almost throw up during the entire rendition of The Lord’s Prayer.

But this moment in the Santa Claus 2 is worth the physical pain. I love it. I hate it. I love it. On Thanksgiving day at Baby Sister’s we sat around and watched just for the painful fun of it… push play if you dare and watch what I believe is the most painful moment in Christmas movie history! (Do you agree?)

Β Β 

Responses

  1. Oh my hell, I love your brain. So funny!!!

    NOW I’m a wee bit nervous because I have Monday’s post ready and it includes an audio of me singing. And if you have to leave my blog because I sound like an American Idol reject my self-esteem may never recover. And you may decide you can’t be bff’s with me and my singing anymore. 😦

    Sometimes a girl’s just gotta take her chances. ❓ And sometimes a girl (like me) realizes she needs to get more Christmas movies like you… cuz it’s gonna be a whole lot of White Christmas between now and Dec. 25th!!! 😯

    πŸ™‚

  2. That ❓ was TOTALLY the wrong emoticon, for the record. It was supposed to be πŸ˜•

  3. Gitz, There is no chance of you not being able to sing. God brings me these friends who can sing like birds (you and Anita) to make up for my total lack of ability!
    Can NOT wait until Monday!!!

  4. Wow, that was physically painful and enjoyable at the same time.

    Gitz and Anita, Rob has a great voice, she can even dance and sing at the same time. πŸ™‚

    I just want to tell you how happy I am for you that you have such JOY this Christmas. Your joy and all your tickled moments have really been exciting to read about. Every time I read a post I smile and enjoy your moments. You are an amazing woman with a wonderful perspective. Your humor may just get me through my little storm!

  5. Oh, Robin, after Ruthie’s comment I am officially screwed! I can’t carry a tune in a bucket! I shudder at the thought. The only thing more painful than watching that clip would be listening to me sing!

    Thanks for the laughs this morning!!!

  6. sad to say, i’m not sure i could identify the song she was SUPPOSED to be singing, so i couldn’t tell if it was off-key or not!

    i don’t care if she was acting or not, though, that took GUTS.

  7. Mrs. Robin,

    Great moment in Christmas movie history. However, that being the most horribly VISIBLE moment, this has to be my worst all-time Audible moment in Christmas music history. Scroll down mid-page and click play. And since you are physically “moved” by tone-deaf performances, kleenex’s and close supervision are in order. Don’t say I didn’t warn you.

    http://www.burnsidewriterscollective.com/reviews/music/o/the_abominable_o_holy_night1106.php

  8. I’m still waiting to hear Anita sing… I’ve sent her a few of my songs but I got nothin’. If you’ve heard her sing and I haven’t, there’s gonna be a whole lot of peer pressure coming her way πŸ™‚

  9. LOL hey gals. I feel like my ears should have been ringing or my nose should have been itching or something like that while this discussion was going on. I am honored, Robin, that you believe in my singing. @gitz, I think she’s basing that belief on my history as a singer and my daughter’s talent, maybe? I have never sent or posted any audio of myself via the web. But I will tell you my daughter sounds so much like me on a recording that it creeps me out sometimes.

    @Gitz your voice is BEAUTIFUL and I am so proud that you are going to post a song! Is it Christmasy? As long as you aren’t singing about feeling like some Christmas, I think we’ll love it.

    @Robin, @Ruthie told on you. Now we know you can sing and dance. We’ll be waiting for the video. Maybe you can put Mike in a Santa suit and sing to him?

  10. Oooohh… I like this whole Robin singing and dancing on video thing…

    Ruthie… you’re totally in charge of making that happen. Even if you have to catch her doing it without her knowledge. Anita, Vicky and I all give you permission and will shield you from any retribution.

    Promise.

    πŸ™‚

  11. Me singing and dancing is just never gonna happen! Ruthie is in for “it”!!!
    My singing has been summed up by choir director back in the day I was a good Baptist…
    “Robin, your voice is perfect…for blending in with the choir.”
    I think he then said: “on the back row.”
    Buuuuttt, Mike in a Santa suit may just be entertaining enough! (He just said: I don’t think there’s anything good about Mike in a Santa suit!!!)
    Stay warm Gitz!

  12. This part of SC2 gives me the sweats. I sweat when someone is embarrassing themselves in thinking they can sing, or think they are funny, or whenever they are making a fool of themselves. I don’t watch AI for various reasons and that is one of them. Me? Can’t sing. Know it. Won’t. πŸ™‚


Leave a Reply

Categories

