Posted by: Robin~AllThingsHeartandHome | November 17, 2008

Settling the score with the killer Squirrel and let the decorating begin!

 

On Saturday The Husband and I went to the Yellow River Game Ranch! I worked at the Game Ranch when I was in high school so I was really excited about going back! Also, I had a score to settle, I’ll tell ya about that in a minute.

The Husband and I love animals~

dsc01094dsc01085

All kinds of animals~

dsc01107

We fed them graham crackers, not s’mores Gitz, just the crackers!

dsc01103

When I worked here 30 years ago, my boss, the man that owned the Yellow River Game Ranch was Mr.Rillings. He was retired Navy or Army or something. Mr. Rillings loved me. He let me do all sorts of fun things like cut raw meat from a freshly deceased Bison. (Until I lost my lunch, then he called me a pet name, ‘you sissy’ and told me to go clean the barn.) Other fun things he let me do on a regular basis: clean out the pig pens, and shovel out the donkey’s stalls. Nobody’s ever liked me quite as much as Mr. Rillings.

Now, Mr. Rillings was ancient when I worked for him, like 70 years old maybe. So I assumed his daughter had taken over the Game Ranch by now.  When we were paying to get in I asked the lady this question,”Is Mr. Rillings still alive?” She looked horrified.

dsc01144Turns out Mr. Rillings is very much alive! He still runs the Game Ranch. Turns out, Mr. Rillings is now 80 years old. The Husband did a little math and pointed out that when I worked for the Ancient Mr. Rillings he was the exact age that The Husband is right now! All I could say was “Dude”!

 

Back to the trail…these two little mobsters followed  us around the entire trail!

dsc01139

They were extorting nibbles!

 dsc01137

Okay, now about the score I came to settle.

I came back to the Yellow River Game Ranch to find a squirrel…not just any squirrel, I wanted one directly related to the sucker that bit clean through my thumb 30 years ago when I worked here.

After the squirrel attack, I had to have my entire thumb nail removed. Do you have any idea how painful having no thumb-nail is? Do you have any idea how long it takes a thumb-nail to grow back? Well, it’a about as long as it takes to grow a human being to full term.  Understand, I couldn’t wear nail polish for 9 months!

Now, I’ve been aiming at squirrels with my car ever since. (I’ve never hit one, I’m a terrible aim!)  You can see why it was time to find that distant squirrel relative.  Someone had to pay. So I looked…

This wasn’t him…look at the adorable way he munches that cracker.

dsc01099

I was pretty sure this one wasn’t either, he was polite, covering his mouth when he sneezed.

.dsc01119

And this one, well this one was one sweet little rodent, couldn’t be her…

dsc010901

Then …  I saw this dirty rotten…  My heart stopped because, I’m pretty sure this was The One. Just check out that killer  mouth.

 dsc010971

Now, I could finally have my revenge…

 

Suddenly…along came these little fellows…

dsc01127

all I could think of was: 

Christmas is coming and the geese are getting fat~(sing with me) won’t  you please put a penny in the old

man’s hat…”   Just like that, I calmed down. I felt love toward all man and animal kind. I even felt goodwill

towards my brother squirrel…

 

And so in the spirit of Christmas I let the little suckerdsc01088

keep his thumb nail~

 

Here I am contemplating how much I’ve grown~

dsc01163-2The end! 🙂

And as promised, I’ve started decorating. This is what I have up thus far 3 trees with lights, 2 wreaths, and the mantle garland. All the Christmas paraphernalia has been carelessly  carefully hurled down from the attic (by The Husband) and the house looks like the giant Christmas Fairy threw up everywhere. Not pretty, so don’t be discouraged when you see these pictures! All day today, I have Christmas movies playing and I’m a busy little elf!

This is my house thus far…

dsc01318dsc01317dsc01319

and these are some of the lights from this weekend! Be warned, you may get the overwhelming desire to get your Christmas on! 🙂

 

 dsc01235-11                             dsc01283

 

Responses

  1. How pretty! I am starting this week too! I get so excited! I am like a little kid! I also have 3 trees and it will take me at least a whole day just to get them shaped back the way they are supposed to be!

  2. HOLY COW!!! how many trees do you put up and decorate? call me a grinch, but i have a difficult time even doing 1! we used to cut one down every year, and since we dispensed with that tradition after locking our keys–yes, both sets–in the car at a tree farm 5 years ago, it just hasn’t been the same for me. i don’t mind not having to sweep up pine needles, but i miss that the tree is a little differently shaped each year.

    for a minute, i thought the last picture was of your house! have fun!

  3. HOLY COW!!! how many trees do you put up and decorate? call me a grinch, but i have a difficult time even doing 1! we used to cut one down every year, and since we dispensed with that tradition after locking our keys–yes, both sets–in the car at a tree farm 5 years ago, it just hasn’t been the same for me. i don’t mind not having to sweep up pine needles, but i miss that the tree is a little differently shaped each year.

    for a minute, i thought the last picture was of your house! have fun!

  4. OH my gosh that was hilarious! You had me laughing out loud in several places. I was laughing before you made your first joke, though, because I looked at Mike’s picture and wondered, “Will I ever be able to look at his face without hearing ‘damn dishwasher’?”

    Great news about Mr. Rillings; I’m sure Mike was delighted to make such a great age connection with your former boss.

    Thanks for letting the squirrel keep his fingernail. If they made picture books for adults, this would be a great one to put out in November. My kids might even like this one.

    The house is looking good! Keep ’em coming!

  5. I dropped a brick on my toe the day I turned 4 and spent the day in the ER having my big toe nail removed…

    But getting “bit” by a squirrel and losing a thumbnail, that just takes the cake!

    And now look who is all cutie -patootie with her scarf around her neck and her hair up!

    The trees definitely give me a feeling of festivity! Can’t wait to see the finished project!

  6. You and your squirrels are adorable… but I have a feeling the next time you run out of graham crackers you’re going to be cursing the little suckers for eating all of your s’more supply! 😯

    🙂

    My dinky little Christmas decorations in my dinky little condo are going to look like Scrooge compared to yours, but when I can get someone here to help me with them I’ll show you photos… it will be lots of Christmas spirit with little to show for it ~ but it’s the spirit that counts, right?!?!?! 😉

  7. I jealous that you went to the game ranch – you haven’t taken us there since we were 6 🙂

  8. You so make me laugh. You are going to find this weird but I was having one of those bizarre hormonal, dark cloud over your head days, where everything was setting me off. My husband was being so patient and the thought crossed my mind, “I wish I could talk to Robin. She seems so patient, wise and understanding. She would know how to set me straight and help me snap out of this.” Weird I know, but you really do emanate a peace and Christ filled beauty that I already admire so. Just wanted you to know that you shine!

  9. Okay, this is getting weird. At night, I show Ricky your blog. HE KNOWS MR. RILLINGS. !! He said to tell you to be careful with those roosters. He took a couple of his pet ones over there and donated them. They aren’t very friendly.

    I got out our white lights for the deck and I think, because of you, he’s going to hang them up tonight! Thanks. 🙂

    Also, because of you, we’re now going to the Y at 5 a.m. He loves you, Rob.

    Jewels


Leave a Reply

Categories

