Posted by: Robin~AllThingsHeartandHome | October 28, 2008

A Careful Exploration…

“Make a careful exploration of who you are and the work you’ve been given, and then sink yourself into that…you must take responsibility for doing the creative best you can with you own life.” Galatians 6: 4-5 (Message Version)

I’ve been thinking a lot about that. The ‘who the heck am I and what the heck am I supposed to be doing questions. Since Emma, the youngest of our brood, moved out, the question comes up a lot. People ask me all the time, “What are you going to do now?” I feel like somewhat of a failure since I don’t have a career waiting for me at this stage in my life. And now, Pastor Pete, who does my favorite blog, (http://withoutwax.tv/) is doing a series at his church on “What you do Matters”. 

 So that has me  thinking overtime. Mike and I listened to the first message in the series last night.  Pete talked about King David, when he was just a boy and went up against Goliath.  Remember, David tried to wear Saul’s armor but eventually fought the giant in his own clothes with his own weapon. What he was comfortable with. (Okay, the message is soooo much more. You have to listen to it!)

 This is just the part that sparked some questions in me. And for a moment I felt silly for asking. As old as I am, why am I still asking these questions?  Then I remembered Galatians 6. “Make a careful exploration of who you are and the work you’ve been given…” It’s okay to ask those questions.  It may actually be a prerequisite to “sinking yourself” into the  work God gave you!

Also, it occurs to me that as my life has changed, what I do has changed.  Being a mom of four little ones and being a mom of four adult children is entirely different. And if my identity is completely wrapped up in being a mom, well, I’ve successfully worked myself out of a job and out of an idenitity as well.  So at this time more than ever, it’s necessary to have an identity apart from what I do.

This week, I’m asking God to help me make a careful exploration of who I am.  Focusing on my past jobs, projects, and responsibilities.  Looking at the things I’m passionate about, the things that give me energy.  I want to find those common threads that God has been weaving into my very essence. I want to make sure that I’m not carrying around burdens or expectations, like Sauls’s armor, that don’t fit and that I wasn’t meant to carry.

 Thanks Pastor Pete! Can’t wait to hear the next message on What You Do Matters!

 

Responses

  1. Good post robin! As a man, I have heard often that many men find their identity in their job. I can/have fallen into that trap. “Hi I’m bill and I’m the pastor of ________.” That worked until I spent 6 months without a church to pastor. I reckon I lost my identifier. But it was good because I saw myself in a whole ‘nother light. I love being a pastor and fulfilling my calling but I do pray that if I ever have to step down, I can still find myself. Hope your exploration goes well.

  2. Wow. What a zinger. Loved this post!

    Julie

  3. Rob, great thoughts. For me I feel like I am doing my dream job but I need to keep examining that I make a difference in each life I am given to love on and encourage. I realize at times I get burdened with my own life and just go through the motions. This post helps me to re-direct my focus towards others. Peace and love 🙂

  4. “Not carrying around the burdens or expectations”… good for you.

    Just as your role as mom changed over the years, you have too… and I think taking a moment to figure out what makes you happy NOW rather than diving into what may have made you happy back then is the best gift you can give yourself. You are talented and creative and you will find what brings you joy if you pay attention.

    Reminds me of Julia Roberts in Runaway Bride when she finally stopped and figured out how she liked her eggs prepared. Sometimes it just takes the action of stopping long enough to ask the question.

  5. I’m praying for you Robin. I think this is an exciting season and I can’t wait to see what God has in store for you and your entire family.

    Don’t quit exploring!


Leave a Reply

Categories

