Posted by: Robin~AllThingsHeartandHome | October 6, 2008

Say what ya need to say…

On Friday we found out that my husband’s sister, Sharon, died suddenly .  She was only 60 years old.  It’s been an emotional weekend for Mike.  We’ve talked about Sharon, reliving memories and reminding each other of her strong faith in God.  My most special memories of Sharon were our conversations over the phone right after my mother died.  That was almost 3 years ago.  Sharon was encouraging but most of all she let me talk.  She let me scream and cry.  Most of the time, she ended the call with a simple, “I’m so sorry”  and somehow, that was enough. 

As I look back on those talks I’m amazed that less than 3 years later, she too would be gone. I wish I had talked to her more.  Sent her cards.  Let her know how much she was loved.  When I loose someone close to me,  I find that I always have regrets.  I’m comforted though, believing that in the next life they know.  Know how sorry I am for letting them down.  Know how much I love them. Know the impact they have had on my life.  Also, I’m reminded to, as John Mayer puts it…”say what ya need to say”.   Today I’m sending out a few “I love you” notes and calling some friends I haven’t talked to in awhile…today I’m saying what I need to…

Responses

  1. I’m sorry for your and your husband’s loss. I’m sorry for the loss of your mother, as well. I’ve recently lost a loved one, too. And on regret, I think it is evidence of the love that resides in the heart, especially when you post an inspiring message to go out and say “I love you.” 🙂

  2. Robin I am so sorry to hear of your loss. I know what it feels like to lose someone very close. I pray that God will walk closely with you all and comfort you in your grief.


Leave a Reply

Categories

