Posted by: Robin~AllThingsHeartandHome | September 24, 2008

Just call me Gigi!

I finally get to tell people…I’m a grandmother!  My daughter, Stephanie is pregnant with our first grandchild.  She and her husband, Jon, have just lifted the “gag order”.  They wanted to wait until she was 3 months along.  So here we are!  I have been looking forward to being a grandmother forever!  I’ve always told people that I had four kids so I could get a few grandchildren out of the deal!  I said this in jest of course, or maybe not.

I think the reason I’m looking so forward to being a grandmom is because my grandmother was so very influential in my life.  She was the only grandparent  who consistantly invested in my sister, my brother, and I.  Most of our friends had four grandparents, but our one little grandmother was better than having four! 

Gramma gave me my passion for reading and my love for order and peace.  She showed me how to make the most simple tasks eventful…special even.  I want to be that kind of influence to my grandchildren.  I want them to be excited when they come to Poppy and Gigi’s house…(don’t mock me, yes, I’ve named us.  My grandchildren will most likely make up horrible little names to call Mike and I.  Names like Poopy and MooMoo, but I’m going down trying…I’m Gigi and I mean it!)

Stephie is just glowing!  (So is Jon for that matter!)  She went to Rosemary Beach with us in late July.  I had no idea then, but she was already pregnant.  I kept telling her how beautiful she was.  They heard the baby’s heartbeat on Monday…strong and fast the Dr. said. 

I have prayed for all of my (future) grandchildren for years, since my children grew into adulthood.  I believe God knows those little ones already, (He knew us before we were formed…)so I ask His protection and blessing on them.  Soon, we’ll know if they’re having a boy or a girl. We’ll  be able to attach a name him/her!  I can hadly wait. My heart just overflows with gratitude.  Thanks for listening.  I just had to tell somebody! And I’m serious…call me Gigi!

Responses

  1. Gigi you will be every bit as good as Phoebe was a grandmother to you. You will be amazing! I am so excited for all of you.

    Boy, are we at different places!

    Love you

  2. CONGRATS, how exciting!
    looking forward to hearing lots more about it.


Leave a Reply

Categories

