Posted by: Robin~AllThingsHeartandHome | August 14, 2008

Crossing Paths

People cross paths in life for a reason.  That’s what I believe.  I try to learn something from everyone I have contact with.  it’s fascinating really, the way a person can draw out feelings in me.  I have one friend that is uber organized.  When I visit her I come away with little projects to do at home.  I love organization and admire her lifestyle.  I’m truly better for being around her.  Another friend of mine is the most joyful person I’ve ever met.  She’s generous with laughter and good words.  When I walk away from time with her I’m usually smiling on the inside as well as the outside and I try to spread the joy a little.  Then there’s this tiny older lady who works in my grocery store.  She’s a little bit hunched over and walks with great effort. But honestly you’ll never see her without her saying something cheery like;  “hi doll, are you having a good day?”  She’s energetic and animated and when I see her I think that I don’t have to be afraid of getting older.  She’s planted a little seed of hope in me about my later years. 

But my encounters don’t always bring out the positive.  Lately, in fact, I believe that God must be trying to tell me something.  I keep coming across people that make me feel “less than”.  Do you know what I mean? The other day, I left my house feeling good.  Confident.  Ready for anything.  By the time I got home  I felt small.  Insignificant.  Less than.  I thought: ‘I don’t want to be around  (whoever) anymore, they make me feel bad about myself.  But that’s not possible is it?  No one can make me feel bad about myself.  They can only bring out what’s already inside me.  Anyway, that’s happened a lot lately.  It’s becoming a pattern really.  So I know God is trying to get my attention and work on some things.

One thing I believe He’s doing; is healing that wounded place in me.  The place where my self worth is based on something other than the fact that I am fearfully and wonderfully made.  In addition, I think He’s  working in me a deep desire to rid myself of feeling better than anyone else.  I never want to look down on anyone and make them feel small or less than. 

So today, I’m thankful for each and every person I come in contact with.  I purpose to be a bright spot in someone else’s life and I’m open to  God continuing His glorious work in me.

Leave a Reply

Categories

