Posted by: Robin~AllThingsHeartandHome | May 7, 2009

Chocolate Chip Banana Cake!

So it’s Foodie Friday over at Design’s by Gollum and I think today’s theme is CAKE!!!

I am a sucker for a good cake and let me tell you…this is a good cake! It’s Chocolate Chip Banana Cake…

Frosted-cake-2

It’s easy to make and from my experience…it’s a crowd pleaser!

mixing-the-cake

cake-ready-to-frost

This icing recipe makes it easy to have a pretty impressive finished product!

frosted-cake

cake-minus

piece-of-cake-2

Piece-of-cake

Here’s the recipe…

Chocolate Chip Banana Cake

1  1/2 cups mashed ripe bananas (about 3)

3 cups all purpose flour

1  1/2 teaspoons baking soda

1/2 teaspoon salt

1  1/2 sticks of unsalted butter, room temp.

2 cups plus 2 tablespoons granulated sugar

3 eggs

2 teaspoons vanilla extract

1  1/2 cups buttermilk

6 ounces mini choc. chips

Chocolate frosting

Preheat oven to 300 *. Grease and flour 2  round cake pans.

In medimum bowl, mix flour and baking soda and salt. Set aside.

With electric mixer, beat the butter and sugar until light and fluffy. Beat in the eggs one at a time, then stir in the vanilla. Beat in the flour mixture alternating with the buttermilk. Stir in the bananas and mini choc. chips. Pour batter into prepared pans.  Bake for 50 minutes to an hour, or until a toothpick inserted in the center of the cake comes out clean. Remove from oven and place directly into the freezer for 45 minutes. When cake is cool frost…

Chocolate Frosting

12 ounce bag chocolate chips

1 cup half and half

1  1/2 cup butter

about 5 cups sifted powdered sugar

Combine the chips, 1/2 and 1/2, and butter in a saucepan. Stir over low heat until melted and combined. Put in mixing bowl and mix in the powdered sugar (it will be thin frosting).Put the bowl in the freezer for about 30 minutes…mix again with mixertil it’s a good frosting consistency. (If it’s too thin…chill some more and mix again)

Try this and DO put the cakes in the freezer when they come out of the oven, this is to make the cake moist…this has been tested and it’s true! The cake really is more moist when it’s put int the freezer!

Have a yumalicious weekend Peeps…TTFN~

Responses

  1. Chocolate chips and bananas — what could be better than that?

  2. That sounds delicious, my dh would love this recipe! Thank you!

  3. My mouth is watering!

  4. Now this is total temptation for me.

  5. oh my…yum…going to have to try! Happy Foodie Friday! Have a great Mother’s Day ~ Susan

  6. I make this cake too! Or at least I used to. It was one of my cravings when I was pregnant. I do think however, your frosting is a tish more rich and therefore yummier than mine!

    But anyone who may have doubts, I can attest, banana and chocolate is a yummy combo :)

  7. This looks too good to be true! Think I’ll be right over!

  8. Thank you, thank you, thank you for posting this recipe. Bananas? Chocolate chips? You are speaking directly to my heart. I can’t wait to try this one, I know what I’m doing tonight!!

  9. Reporting in. This cake is in my oven now–with GF flour. Smells incredible. I also made Ruthie’s Salsa Chicken with rice.

    Thanks to my blogging friends, supper’s almost ready.

  10. Thank you for joining the potluck! This looks delicious!!!

  11. You.Are.Killing.Me.

    I think from now on you’re not allowed to show scrumptious food without sending us samples. :)

  12. This sounds delish and with all of the wonderfall comments I must give it a try! ~ Robyn

  13. Holy Moly!!! I almost bit my computer screen!!!

  14. The frosting look sooo creamy…. cake looks great!!! A new twist for me…

  15. Oh my but this looks good. I will put the layers in the freezer to keep them moist before frosting.
    I am always looking for ways to use up all the bananas that are in my fruit bowel and muffins and bread get boring.
    Joyce


Leave a Reply

Categories

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

