Posted by: Robin~AllThingsHeartandHome | April 29, 2009

Stawberry Cake~Yumalicious~

It’s that time of year Peeps!!! Strawberries abound! Naturally, I took a perfectly healthy berry and sugared it up a little.  Time for Strawberry Cake!

 

decorated-strawberry-cake-2

Made it to take to my sweet friend, Leontta’s, birthday party!

the-whole-decorated-strawbe1

The recipe is super easy, using a white cake mix as the base~

strawberry-cake-batter

The icing is easy too! Just butter, confectioners sugar and mashed strawberries!

 strawberry-icing

And here’s the great thing: this cake is so forgiving. I over-cooked the cake a bit (sometimes multi-tasking isn’t a good thing for me!) but even over-cooked, the cake was moist. The mashed strawberries and jello in the mix make for a super moist cake, even my cake was melt in your mouth!

strawberry-cake-slice

half-a-cake

Next time you’re at the grocery store grab some strawberries and try a strawberry cake. I’ve included my recipe just in case you don’t already have one! (Watch for “***” to see what I do that’s a snibbit different than the recipe!)

STRAWBERRY CAKE 

 Preheat oven to 350*

1 package white cake mix 1 package (3 ounces) strawberry-flavored gelatin powder

1 cup vegetable oil

4 eggs, lightly beaten

1/4 cup water 

3/4 cup mashed strawberries

Combine cake mix and gelatin powder in large bowl. Beat in oil, eggs, water, and strawberries. Beat on HI for 30 seconds~then on MED. for 2 minutes. Pour into 2 9 inch round greased and floured cake pans. (Pat bottom of pans gently on counter-tops to even the batter in the pans!)

Bake 350*  oven for app. 30 minutes or until toothpick inserted in center comes out clean. 

*******I use 3- 9 inch cake pans therefore adjust baking time…start checking with toothpick at about 20 minutes!*********

Cool and frost with strawberry icing… 

STRAWBERRY ICING  

1/2 cup butter 

1 pound confectioners sugar 

1/4 cup mashed strawberries

***** I make 1 and 1/2 recipes of icing~ I like to have LOTS of icing!!!)*****

Beat butter  and confectioners sugar together until smooth. Add strawberries. Spread between cake layers, then frost top and sides! Decorate with extra (washed & dried) strawberries! piece-of-cake

 

decorated-strawberry-cake

TTFN Sweet friends~ Have a BERRY happy Wednesday! And Happy Birthday Leontta~

the-whole-strawberry-cake-2

Responses

  1. People I ate that cake you are looking at and it was perfect! I ate a small piece and then ate another small piece that combined makes a BIG piece!

    I want some more!!!

  2. You’re right Ruthie. That cake was delicious. Robin, you truly are our very own Martha Stewart.
    Love you.

  3. I bet Leonntta felt soooooooooo special. Send us pics of the party!

  4. Oh yeah. It’s almost strawberry season here. There are several “U-Pick” farms in the area and I’ll be getting a flat and trying this recipe; and eating them w/just a little sugar; and with short cake; and fruity drinks; and…..well you get the idea. lol Blessings, SusanD

  5. My mouth is watering just looking at it! I used to bake cakes a lot when I was growing up. I need to invest in some pans and start again. Robin, you always seem to inspire me in one way or another!

    Thanks for sharing!! Happy Wednesday to you!

  6. I have made this cake too and it is so yummy! Such a pretty pink, perfect for showers and birthdays! Thanks for the reminder!

  7. My freind Susan D. sent me over here to check out this wonderful recipe! I posted about cakes today on my blog and she commented and told me to come over here and check you out!
    So fun and can’t wait to try this one out! I love strawberries!

  8. Robin, I know J B & T M would appreciate ( a bunch ),
    luv even, if you were to bring one of those SB C’s to Gwinnett this coming Friday or Saturday! Whata’
    think?? If for some reason they they have other
    things on their minds………..I’ll take care of it :)

  9. that looks so good! it’s beautiful!

  10. The cake looks great. and I see you used the little ribbon bookmark thingy’s you made the other day for presentation effect…very nice!!!

  11. Yum! I love strawberries. My son has been talking about trying them after a weird year of not liking them. A great way to reintroduce him ;)

  12. Thank you for popping over to my blog.

    That’s neat you are a first time Grandma (Gigi). I have 2 GRAND~girls! They are so much fun. They call me Gigi because that mean son of mine taught them too. Gigi is my real name. I was really hoping they would call me nanny or meme or something fun, but no they call me Gigi. I like them calling me that now, Shelby slipped and called me Grandma the other day and it sounded so wrong. Oh well, I’m just glad they call me.

  13. You’re killing me. I’m so hungry right now!

  14. I’ve got to make that cake!

  15. Hey you, I made that strawberry cake last weekend and it was wonderful! I blogged it late last night for my Tasty Tuesday. Hope you don’t mind and I gave you all the credit! Thanks for a keeper of a recipe :)


Leave a Reply

Categories

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

