Posted by: Robin~AllThingsHeartandHome | April 27, 2009

3 Crafty Things!

thumb-tack-close-upclose-up-of-magnetsbookmarks-3

paper-flowers1I love all the paper and cut-outs and do-dads in the scrapbooking section. But alas I don’t scrapbook. So I’m always looking for things to do with all that fun stuff! I found these scrumptous paper flowers on big sale at Michael’s the other day. I had no idea what I’d do with them but most of the time, when I trust my gut and buy something I love I find something amazing to do with it! Then I saw this A-dorable idea over at Hospitable Pursuits  and my imagination just went nuts with these little paper cut outs!

First I put them together with these tiny brads (JoAnn’s has a whole line of these little things for a dollar a pack!)  Then I cut a small magnet strip from a roll of magnet tape! You have to bend it a bit to adhere to the paper but it worked great!

 making-paper-flower-magnets

crafting-magnets

Next easy craft: thumb tacks! I glued these together with Mod Podge, yes you can use it for projects like this! then put a dot of craft (or jewlery) glue in the center and dropped some little beads on top! Add a nice drop of craft glue on the back of the flower and put a thumb tack smack in the center! Let dry ~

paper-flower-thumbtacks

paper-flower-thumb-tacks-fi

Now for the third easy thing to do with these paper flower cut outs! Book Marks! You know how I adore book marks, I make them all the time! Check out my All Things Crafty Category for some more book mark ideas! But this one may be my most favorite I’ve EVER made!!!

I put the flower together with one of those tiny brads. Fold my ribbon under and using a craft knife I made a little hole in all layers of ribbon then put the brad through and fastened at the back of the ribbon.

making-paper-flower-bookmar

To keep the ribbon from fraying I put Fray Check (found in the sewing notions at Walmart) on the edge of the ribbon. But a tiny bit of clear nail polish will do the same thing.

fray-check

Aren’t these darling…I’m thinking party favors!!! Teacher’s gift tucked inside a good book! Bible Study or Book Club little prize! Oh I love cute things I can give away!

paper-flower-book-marks

bookmarks-2

So there you have it! 3 fun things to do with these whimsical paper flower cut outs even if you don’t scrapbook!!!

Love to you Sweet Peas and prayers for you to have a productive and joyful day!

I’m linking this to Metamorphsis Monday over at Between Naps on the Porch! Head over there to see some great before and afters :)

Responses

  1. Ador-a-ble.

    I’m friends with Nora St Laurent who runs book clubs at Lifeway in Buford. Will have her check this out!

  2. Robin I am going to run out of fresh ways to oooh and aaah long before you will run of creative and fresh crafty ideas. I admire not just the end result, but the whole creative process. And to see my little card hanging there just brought a tickle of joy to me!

  3. Great minds think alike! I just did this for my bulletin board. I think yours might be prettier though(:

  4. I’d love to take one of those please! ;-)

    Lovely, lovely pieces! I will try that for my son’s teacher!

  5. What an awesome creation! Just perfect for Met. Monday..

  6. Robin.. How cute. What a great idea to do as a Teachers end of the year gift. Thanks for sharing.
    Have a great week.
    Hugs,
    Debbie

  7. great blog. love all that you did with the flowers. also loving those cookies

  8. Robin,
    Loved the bookmarks, can’t wait to get started making some for friends and family.


Leave a Reply

Categories

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

