Posted by: Robin~AllThingsHeartandHome | December 30, 2008

What are ya doing New Year’s Eve?

 Well New Year’s Eve is almost here and then there’s New Year’s Day…I almost hate to bring up the subject of food and fun since that’s what we’ve been talking about for a month, but really what are ya doing and eating for the last holiday of New Year's Eve

and the first holiday of ’09?Fireworks35903567

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

The Husband and I have tried lots of different things on New Years Eve. We’ve gone to parties. We’ve had a few couples over for a late dinner. We’ve gone out to dinner by ourselves and we’ve just snuggled in.

I’m sure it comes as no surprise that we’ve settled on snuggling in over the past few years.

We order Chinese food and put on pa-jay-jays and watch a movie and then keep an eye on Times Square. Times Square New Years Eve

Usually one of us wakes the other when the ball drops…”Happy New Years Sweetie…sleep tight.”

Well, I know it’s a very tame (I said tame not lame!) way to spend New Year’s Eve, but that’s what we like to do.

Then, on New Year’s Day, I make a yumalicious ham and black eyed pea soup …I made it early this year so I could share it with you, just in case you might want to try it!

And actually, I have 2 recipes to share. One, The ham & black eyed pea veggie soup is a comfort food for me. My mom used to make it twice a year with leftover ham from Christmas and Easter. The other is a Cooking Light recipe for Chocolate Chip Cookies…now, hear me out:

I’m feeling chubalicious from eating all those Christmas goodies, but that’s not going to stop me from eating something sweet on New Year’s Day, I come off the sugar like I come off Christmas…slllooowly! So these are a great solution to coming off sugar slllooowly, they are low calorie and low fat and dipped in some ice cold skim milk, well my naughty sugared-up self is satisified!

First the soup…serve this with crusty bread and bring in 2009 all warm and cozy inside… 2008-12-29_0059

Mom’s Ham-Black eyed pea & Veggie Soup

2-3 Cups ham (chopped)

2 (14 oz.) Cans diced tomatoes (I use no salt since the ham is pretty salty)

7 Cups Chicken stock

2 Cans Great northern beans

3 Cans Black eyed peas

1 bag frozen corn (I use white corn)

1bag frozen green beans

1 Onion chopped

2 Tablespoons Worcestershire sauce

2-3 shakes celery seed (chop 2 stalks of celery if you have them)

2 Bay leaves

2 teaspoons minced garlic (or a few shakes of powdered!)

Mix everything in a big stock pot and cook on high till it’s bubbly, then simmer for 1-3 hours.

~Serve with crusty bread or corn bread~

 

And now the cookies…Oh,notice the little “Tickled by Joy” frame behind the cookies, well,

that was the party favor at my family party last week, (I’m praying that ‘everyone’

will be tickled by joy in ’09!) I keep forgetting to show you so I stuck it in!

 2008-12-29_0055

Okay, I went a little overboard with the cookie pictures but I want you to be

encouraged that you can nibble something sweet without sinking your diet ship…

2008-12-29_0054

These puppies are crunchy on the outside and soft on the inside.

Just make sure you have your milk or coffee…

2008-12-29_0052

No Guilt Chocolate Chip Cookies

1 teaspoon baking soda

1 Cup packed brown sugar

3/4 Cup granulated sugar

1/2 Cup butter, softened

1 teaspoon vanilla

2 large egg whites

3/4 Cup semisweet chocolate chips

cooking spray

Preheat oven to 350*

Combine flour, & baking soda~whisk!

Combine sugars and butter in mixing bowl, beat at med. until blended

Add vanilla and egg whites, beat 1 minute

Add flour mixture a little at a time

Add chips mix until blended

Drop dough by tablespoons onto baking sheet (spray sheet with cooking spray or use parchment)

Bake 350* for about 10 minutes or until lightly browned.

Cool 1st on pans then on wire racks!

Calories:88  Fat:3g (this isn’t so bad considering what I’ve been eating lately!)

No guilt~just yumalicious goodness!

Be safe this New Year’s Eve…

~TTFN~

 

Responses

  1. Hey! I can eat your ham soup. I’ll make it gluten-free by using Lea and Perrins Wisht…sauce. Can’t spell it. Sure looks yummy.

    Thanks–and a joyful 2009 to you all.

    Julie

  2. The soup looks wonderful!!! The cookies perfect. Your pictures are awesome! Love you, Ruthie

  3. We will stay home and watch movies, in fact we just decided on the movies we will watch! We are planning on watching Nicholas Sparks movies all night! Notebook, A Walk to Remeber and Message in a Bottle. We are making bologna sandwiches and I plan on chocolate chip cookies! Happy New Year!

  4. Sounds good, my black-eyed peas are cooking now. We are going up to the cabin so I made it early to take w/me. I would like to make the cookies w/my leftover chocolate chips, how much flour, I didn’t see that. Enjoy your New Years Eve. Luy Lenora

  5. Lenora you are right! That’s what I get for putting in the recipe at 5 in the morning! It’s 2 1/4 Cups all purpose…whatever you do don’t over cook them…the first day they were perfect, today a little hard and crunchy! Still I had 3 with coffee this morning and God in Heaven only knows how many times I stopped off at that darn cookie jar!!!
    The cabin sounds so good this weekend. You and Perry have so much fun and rest and relax!
    love you~talk to you soon

  6. I wanna be at your house on New Year’s. Just for the chinese and movie part… I promise I won’t kiss the husband.
    :)

  7. i love the picture of the fireworks,it’s my fav.


Leave a Reply

Categories

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

