Posted by: Robin~AllThingsHeartandHome | December 17, 2008

Let’s Do Dessert Recipes and a bonus!

 Some of my peeps wanted the recipes from my Let’s Do Dessert Bash my girls and I had last week! When they were growing up we always baked every year…here they are making sugar cookies when they were itty bitty!

scan0055

Sooo, here are the recipes! (Check out the “Bonus” one at the end of the post! It’s a doozie!)

dsc01774-12

 Sugar Cookie Icing

1 cup XXX sugar (powdered sugar)

2 teaspoons milk

2 teaspoons lite corn syrup

(¼ teaspoon Almond extract, I don’t use this but some people love it!)

 Put XXX sugar in a bowl and add milk…stir until smooth…

Beat in corn syrup until icing is smooth and glossy~if it’s too thick, add more corn syrup! Divide and add food coloring. You can make this the night before, just cover it!

Each cookie needs to be decorated with sprinkles immediately after you ice it because it dries to the touch pretty quickly. The icing takes a few hours to completely set.

I made about 60 sugar cookies (the size of my hand) and used 9 recipes of the icing with a bit left over.

 

Peanut Butter Balls

 1 lb. Peanut butter (creamy or crunchy)

2 sticks almost melted butter1 ½ boxes XXX sugar (powdered sugar)

About 2 – 2 ½ bags of good Chocolate chips (semi sweet) and a little of the chocolate flavored candy bark (the cheap stuff you find at Christmas time!)

Mix and make balls! Put them on cookie sheet lined with wax paper.

Pop them into the freezer for 10 minutes (maybe more)

 Melt the chocolate chips and chocolate candy in microwave safe bowl, stirring halfway through. If the chocolate mixture is too goopy, add a bit more of the bark or a tiny bit of crisco…I try not to add the crisco but sometimes you just have to!

Using a spoon, dip thos PB balls…this is not for the faint of heart. It’s messy, at least when we do it!!!

Haystacks ~ 3 Kinds!

dsc018671

Butterscotch Peanut Butter Haystacks

 dsc01858

 1 cup Butterscotch chips

3 cups Chow mein noodles/broken up a little

1 cup salted peanuts

1 cup peanut butter

Melt chips and add other ing. And drop by teaspoon fulls onto wax paper. These take a little while to dry~put in fridge to speed up the process!

(Makes app. 16!)

 Okay…other variations of this little candy:

White Chocolate Pretzel Haystacks

dsc018621

1 11ounce package of white chocolate chips ( I love Ghirardelli)

1 1/2 cups thin pretzel sticks broken in half

1/2 cup of salted peanuts

Melt chips and add pretzels and peanuts

Use tablespoon to put on wax paper

(Makes about 15)

Chocolate Hay Stacks

dsc01863

 

1 cup chocolate chips

1/2 cup peanuts

3 cups chow mein noodles

You could also add 2 cups mini marshmallows to this!

Melt the chips and add peanuts and chow mein noodles

Use tablespoon to put on wax paper

(Makes 18)

 

Chocolate-Oatmeal Peanut Butter No Bake Melt in your mouth cookies!

 1 ¾ cups sugar

1 stick butter

½ cup milk

3 ½ Tablespoons cocoa

½ cup peanut butter

3 cups oats

generous splash of vanilla

Combine all ing. In a sauce pan, except peanut butter and oats and vanilla

Slowly bring to a boil

Boil, stirring all the time for about 1 ½ minutes

Add peanut butter, oats and vanilla

Scoop out with a teaspoon onto wax paper and let set!

This makes about 2 dozen! (Which is not many! I always double!)

  Extra Special Bonus Recipe!!!

This is one of our favorites! You’ve probably done these before, but you know I get excited about everything!I got the recipe from my pal Leslie a long time ago, Leslie calls them Plaza Park Squares but I’ve seen something similar on Paula Deen and she calls them Ooey Gooey Bars!

Whatever you call them…they are one of the easiest and best desserts I’ve ever made!

Plaza Park Squares

dsc01869-1

1 box yellow cake mix

1 egg

1 stick butter

1 cup chopped pecans

Mix by hand, not mixer! Press into well greased 9 by 13 pan (Press well)

Use a mixer for this part! For topping…

1 box XXX sugar(powdered sugar)

1 (8 oz) cream cheese softened

2 eggs

Mix and spread over pecan mixture.

Bake at 350* for 35 to 40 minutes

Let cool and the cut into small pieces. These little suckers are richer than rich!

~ Have a Yumalicious Day~

 

 

Responses

  1. thanks for sharing these, robin! had the last one at a party last weekend, and they’re fabulous!! the lady who brought them called them chess cake squares, because she said they taste like chess pie. having not grown up in the south, i had no frame of reference for this dish, but the squares were excellent by themselves! off to the gym, now, or i’ll be fatter just from looking at the pictures!

  2. I’ll give Katie a headsup to be sure and read this. We wondered how you made your beautiful icing.

    So, you really did let your kids spread flour everywhere! Love this picture. I see them this way in my heart.

    Love,
    Julie

  3. That is the cutest photo! Look at those precious kids. I have to think they have fond memories of all of this : )

    I have a really novice question… don’t laugh… what is XXX sugar? I’m hoping its just a brand I haven’t heard of before? The boys love to bake and we are going to try and fit it in between hockey games this weekend. I better get prepared!

    Thank you for sharing!

  4. Vicky~ it’s powdered sugar…I’ve no idea why I call it XXX … is that on a box somewhere? Who knows, my mind is like a steel trap, once something’s in there it takes and explosion to get it out!!!

  5. Thanks sweetie, I was hoping it was just a brand name for something I’ve heard of! I too use powdered sugar but only with milk and vanilla. I will have to try corn syrup its looks glossy and its probably thicker? Well I’ll just try and see!

  6. Katie just emailed and asked about xxx sugar. My mother always calls it that. :-) I knew just what you meant.

    Julie

  7. I had to look it up, I couldn’t stand it. The X’s stand for how fine the powder is. The more x’s the finer the sugar.

    Those cookies look SO good, and that picture of your children is fantastic. If you do a book, it has to go in it. Thanks for the recipes. I don’t remember if I asked for it, but I was needing that peanut butter ball recipe.

  8. Okay just read this and I was wondering all morning at the grocery store how you made your icing, it looks smoother than mine..It’s the same except I don’t use the corn syrup. So this time I’ll try “Robin’s recipe”. :) now im off the try to make pretty cookies..

  9. Anita, why did I know you’d get to the bottom of this!? :)
    Thanks Sista~
    Jewles…me and MBWA, we’ve so much in common!

  10. Hi Robin:
    Thanks for sharing. I’ve been oogling those cookies for days. I just made some sugar cookies with my little girl and they expanded to ginormous proportions. How do you keep them small, cute, and in their cute Christmas shapes? I must admit, I cheated on this practice round and used slice and bake (eegads!).

    Merry Christmas to you!

  11. Robin you are really getting good at taking the pictures. Each picture captured the dessert and made it look amazing. I know they taste as great as they look. I am going to try those haystacks!

  12. Glad that XXX thing got cleared up… it sounded a little in the naughty instead of nice category to me ;)

    Please don’t mention peanut butter balls one more time or my stomach my fly me to the ATL involuntarily to eat some.

    Mmmmm….

  13. Gitz, my eyes about bugged out of my head when I connected XXX…sure glad Anita cleared that up ahead of time!!!! (did give me a giggle though)

    Celesta, I’m a TOTAL cheater on the cookie part…I use the little bags of Betty Crocker Sugar Cookie mix. (add butter & an egg)..I have tried 10 different recipes and these are just as good as any of the homemade ones. Just don’t roll too thin…maybe 1/4 ” thick…
    **There’s a recipe on the back of the bag that’s a tiny bit different for cut out sugar cookies (add less butter and add a little flour)
    Try these, they’re about $1.50 at Walmart and each bag makes about 10 cookies the size of your hand!( get at least 2 bags :) )

  14. Robin I made that recipe from the bag and missed the part about the cut out cookies! No wonder the dough kept sticking to everything and was SO mushy! I’ll try again. Your icing looks so good too. I may have to use your recipe.

    @gitz I had to figure it out. I couldn’t leave Robin out there on a XXX limb all by herself. ;)

  15. That food looks amazing!

  16. I cannot wait to get home a try these!!!!!!!! Thanks for sending!

  17. […] Ps…If you want any of the recipes (plus a bonus yummalicious one!)check out my post: “Let’s Do Dessert Recipes”! […]


Leave a Reply

Categories

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

